Best circuits to breadboard?

Started by nobodysweasel, February 11, 2012, 09:45:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nobodysweasel

Hi everyone.  I'm pretty new to the pedal building thing (and electronics in general).  I've made a few pedals, and so far I'm really enjoying it.  The only problem is I'm not exactly sure what's going on in these circuits.  So I've been doing a lot of reading online, and I got a few books about electronics in general.  The next step (I think) is to find some of the more useful circuits to put on a breadboard, and then experiment on them.  I'm hoping some of you out there have been in my shoes before and will have a few suggestions for the best circuits to put on my breadboard for learning purposes.  So far, I'm thinking the fuzz face is a good idea (because there's loads of info on that circuit on the internet).  I'm also thinking maybe the big muff (just because there are so many versions of that circuit to mess around with).  Any other ideas?  It would be especially nice to find a few good circuits to learn on that aren't  distortions.  I mean, everybody loves distortion, but I'd love to explore tremolos/phasers/compressors/whatever else is out there.

Thanks in advance for any ideas, and thanks for everything I've learned from you guys so far.

Pablo1234

I would start with a power supply using regulators. then try some low pass, high pass and band pass stuff. Anything from Craig Andertons Electronic workbench. splitters buffers phase shifters comps distortions. The problem with bread boarding things is the added RC and noise from them. The only circuits I keep on my boards are mixers and splitters and power supplies honestly because almost all effects use them. Another really useful thing to breadboard are LFO's with an amp to change depth and bias. but even they can be boarded and still used with the breadboards.  When you make a general circuit that works make a layout that makes it handy to plug into the breadboard.