|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 25, 2014, 03:08:18 PM
971826 Posts in 103608 Topics by 33043 Members
Latest Member: flowmastergfunk
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  DIY Stompboxes  |  Building your own stompbox  |  Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay  (Read 2221 times)
mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« on: February 11, 2012, 04:33:53 PM »

Hi guys,
I've hunted around the forum heaps and found a lot or good stuff about adding a blinking LED to the Rebote Delay icon_smile

I've already built the pedlal from this layout, and it works great:
http://www.sabrotone.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Rebote-Delay-2.5.gif

I found this layout to add the blinking LED:
http://www.aronnelson.com/gallery/main.php/v/cathexis/Veroboard+Layouts/Magnus+Modulus/PT2399+Tempo+Indicator.jpg.html?g2_imageViewsIndex=1

My question are:
  • Is this the simplest way?
  • Will the LED blink regardless of whether the effect is engaged? I hope so!
  • Where do I get the 5v from? The rest of it runs off 9v...

Thanks heaps for your help!
Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
merlinb
Posts: 1220


Merlin, Lancashire UK


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 05:51:50 PM »

My question are:
  • Is this the simplest way?
Pretty much, yes.

Quote
  • Will the LED blink regardless of whether the effect is engaged?
Yes.

Quote
  • Where do I get the 5v from? The rest of it runs off 9v...
The PT2399 runs off 5V. Get it from pin 1.
Logged
mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2012, 06:40:24 PM »

Awesome. Thanks for the quick reply... I'll fire up the soldering iron...
Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
Mustachio
Posts: 719


Jim


Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2012, 08:16:13 PM »

I'm just about to build the rebote 2.5 as well!

I was thinking about using the Sound to light to get the same effect  . As it looked the cheapest easiest lowest part count way to do it. I figured it wont be super accurate but might work ??

http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=82843.0

Gonna give it a try Monday or Tuesday when my parts get here.

Good luck let us know how yours turns out! 
Logged

"Feed me or feed me to something, I just want to be part of the food chain"
deadastronaut
Posts: 9753


Rob H. LONDON


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2012, 09:08:19 AM »

i asked the same question a few days ago....


i also considered the sound to light, but that will only flash when playing...not all the time..

the circuit above put me off due to the physical size of adding it to a rebote pcb...in a 590b.... Sad
Logged

mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2012, 06:00:24 AM »

Well, here is the finished product - and it works perfectly!  icon_biggrin
I could only just squeeze it into the 1590BB enclosure though... Here it is:
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbjj25e5EYc" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbjj25e5EYc</a>
Thanks for your help!!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2012, 06:03:43 AM by mwynwood » Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
deadastronaut
Posts: 9753


Rob H. LONDON


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2012, 06:19:45 AM »

@marcus: nice one man!...what no sound example?....

the size of that circuit put me off, i like 1590b's now....looks cool though, great stuff... icon_cool icon_cool icon_cool

btw whats the switch for ?..tails?..
Logged

mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2012, 06:33:09 AM »

Thanks man! I might do some sound example soon Smiley
There's no way you'd get it to fit into a 1590B, I only just got it to cram into the 1590BB.
I think the Tempo Indicator vero was bigger than the actual Delay vero! haha

The switch is an "Infinite" switch which causes the delays to repeat forever.
Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
deadastronaut
Posts: 9753


Rob H. LONDON


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2012, 06:36:18 AM »

gotcha!....bigger than the delay itself ha ha yeah i thought that too...... nice one!.. glad it worked! Wink
Logged

mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2012, 11:34:58 PM »

I've just noticed that when you have your amp up a bit, you can hear a slight "click" in time with the light flashing!
Ahh!
Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
deadastronaut
Posts: 9753


Rob H. LONDON


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2012, 03:40:17 AM »

hmmmm bummer!.. Undecided
Logged

SteveFromBerlin
Posts: 25


Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2012, 08:18:28 AM »

Any news? Still ticking?
Logged
mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2012, 04:55:01 PM »

Yeah, but I've come to terms with it.
It's not really all that bad or noticeable.
Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
SteveFromBerlin
Posts: 25


Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2012, 05:02:44 PM »

Glad to hear! Will build it myself next week.
Logged
mwynwood
Posts: 162


Marcus - Australia


WWW
Re: Flashing LED Tempo Indicator for Rebote Delay
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2012, 05:08:55 PM »

I guess you could always add a switch to turn it on and off if it was really annoying.
It only seems to be noticeable when you've got your amp cranked with the gain way up.
Playing clean, it's not really an issue.
Logged

G'day, I'm Marcus
mwynwood.com
My DIY Builds Blog
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to: