Problems with Madbean Thunderpuss Boost

Started by hubb, February 26, 2012, 11:12:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hubb

Hey folks!  I'm fairly new to pedal building.  I built an OSQ and a BluesBreaker from GGG and they both (thankfully) worked correctly on the first try. (yay)  I decided to build a thunderpuss for my buddy, and I can't seem to figure out what's wrong.

1. Project Name: ThunderPuss from Madbeans

2. Project Links: http://www.madbeanpedals.com/projects/Thunderpuss/ThunderPuss.pdf2

3. Adherence to suggested layout: I purchased the Madbean PCB and followed the suggested layout (i think) per the instructions.  The only thing that I substituted was I'm using a mono jack for the input, and I eliminated the battery altogether.  Here's a couple of pics of my work:

4. Parts Substitutions: The bill of materials called for a 9.1v Zerner diode, which I had to research a bit.  After some googling, I was able to find the 1N4739A from Mammoth Electronics.  http://www.mammothelectronics.com/1N4007-1-0-Amp-Silicon-Rectifier-p/120-1013.htm   In terms of substitutions, I did use a mono jack for the input instead of the suggested stereo jack.  I did this because I also eliminated the battery from the circuit, as this thing is going to go inside a 1590a enclosure.

5.This pedal is negative ground.  I haven't made any adjustments.

6.The pedal works properly when not engaged, IE: the bypass works just fine.  When I step on the pedal, I hear a "pop" sound but then there's no audio passing through.  The LED does not light up.

What I've done to troubleshoot so-far:
At first I thought I may have wired the LED backwards, so I pulled it out and tested it with a 9v battery and confirmed that it was working well.