Faint effect noise when in bypass mode

Started by Sterik, May 06, 2014, 10:11:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sterik

Hello there! This is my first post on this forum. A little something about myself: I'm from the Netherlands and I have been playing guitar for about 8 years and I recently started tinkering with electronics because it seemed like a fun thing to do (and it is!) and because I wanted to make some pedals for myself and as a gift for guitar playing friends. I read all the rules for making a new thread etc. so I hope that this question is a good one, and I'm sorry if I forget something. I would really appreciate it if some of you could help me out!

Anyway, I have been working on this pedal for the past two weeks, and I simply can't get it to work properly. It's quite maddening actually. The pedal I'm doing is a Fuzz Factory, the schematic can be found here: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_y4AYtND8Hz8/TCINTn3D6JI/AAAAAAAAAY0/wBxmQy75fJ8/s1600/knownworkingtotal.gif

I built the board exactly as shown, and I know something is right, because when I engage the pedal, everything seems to work fine. 80% of the sound is noise and screeching, and the other 20% are nice fuzz sounds (like the Fuzz Factory is supposed to :) ). I'm using a 6 pin DPDT switch to make it true bypass. I've grounded the negative wire of the 9v DC jack and the negative output of the board (where is says ground) to the input and output jacks, which are metal so they connect with the enclosure (tested those so I know they are connected properly to the enclosure)