|HOME| |DIY FAQ| |GEO FAQ| |Debugging Page| |Links| |Schematics| |Wiki| |Layouts Gallery| |STORE|
|AMPAGE| |GEOFEX| |AMZ|

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 18, 2014, 01:00:10 AM
945674 Posts in 101565 Topics by 31680 Members
Latest Member: ivan H
Home Help Login Register
DIYstompboxes.com  |  DIY Stompboxes  |  Building your own stompbox  |  Adding a dry mix to pedals? 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Adding a dry mix to pedals?  (Read 1270 times)
The_Armadillo
Posts: 59

Dain A.


Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« on: April 11, 2012, 07:09:33 PM »

I recently acquired a MXR Micro Chorus reissue, and Im liking it. Only problem that Im having is that it really steals my bass's (yeah I play bass) low end response and attack. Anybody ever tried sticking a little dry blend in this bad boy? I know its all SMD so modding it in any other way in almost out of the question for me. (though I have successfully modded some SMD pedals before) I know that I like the dry blend because I built up a little buff 'n blend a while ago, but the limited space on my overly packed board kicked it off. I don't want to drill any new holes in the enclosure, so I was thinking a trimpot would do. I guess Im asking because Im not sure if I would have problems with feedback or messing with the resonance. Any suggestions?
Logged
jubal81
Posts: 109



Re: Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 08:43:44 PM »

Rather than modifying it, you can make a standalone blender. Barry at GuitarPCB has a project.
http://www.guitarpcb.com/apps/webstore/products/show/1320462
Logged
The_Armadillo
Posts: 59

Dain A.


Re: Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 09:08:50 PM »

Yeah, (as mentioned above) I already made something like that, so I know that I like how it sounds. I just don't have the room on my board for another pedal.
Logged
deadastronaut
Posts: 8763


Rob H. LONDON


WWW
Re: Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 07:37:27 AM »

ive done an utterly simple blend pot thing by splitting the input

dry pot 1/ effect pot 3 ...out on 2...adjust to taste...can be set with a trimmer if you dont want another pot/hole.....simple but it works....just my 2p  Smiley

theres probably a much better way, buffered etc...but hey i said it was simple... Wink


dry---->1

              out>>>>2

wet--->3

Logged

merlinb
Posts: 1026


Merlin, Lancashire UK


WWW
Re: Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2012, 08:00:32 AM »

Going by this schematic:
http://music-electronics-forum.com/attachments/8604d1269273310-mxr_microchorus_schema.gif

Replace R16 with a pot and resistor (just to get the total value to match the original 270k resistor):

Logged
Seljer
Posts: 1985

Simon


WWW
Re: Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2012, 08:17:15 AM »

I was checking to see how the bass frequency response or the capacitor values there is and noticed that its got a nice setup of pre and de-emphasis, R10 and C7 set a 6dB boost above 5khz, R11 and C8 cut those frequencies back at the end. The decoupling capacitor C10 and C12 with surrounding resistor both have cutoff frequencies below audio.
Logged
The_Armadillo
Posts: 59

Dain A.


Re: Adding a dry mix to pedals?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2012, 06:26:46 PM »

Thanks for the replies! Merlin, I thought about something like that, but the one I have is the reissue with SMD so no modding except for through-hole stuff. Correct me if Im wrong, but isn't the way that you posted acting more like a traditional mix? Im just looking for some dry getting jammed into the output. I think the easiest and most hassle free route for me would probably be to go with deadastronaut's (Rob, right?) way. Probably do the mod soon, I'll keep ya'll updated. Thanks!

Edit: stupid idiot typo.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 06:28:30 PM by The_Armadillo » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to: