Fetzer Valve DB (Dumb question)

Started by jimpajohn, April 13, 2012, 04:48:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimpajohn

I'm a newbie - I just built a fetzer valve boost from run off groove. I really like it, but I want more output (db) from it. Can I coax more volume out of the JFET by increasing/decreasing component values? I know I could build another one in series, but I would like to avoid that at the moment. Any help would be appreciated.

StereoKills

Try playing around with the value of the source resistor (1k5). Lowering the value should increase the dB output.
"Sometimes it takes a thousand notes to make one sound"

jimpajohn

Thanks for the reply StereoKills! I'll try that.

kurtlives

Put the 1M resistor before the 68K resistor.
My DIY site:
www.pdfelectronics.com

zambo

change the output volume pot to a 250k or a 500k. I think thats the easiest.
I wonder what happens if I .......

mrmoo1337

Quote from: jimpajohn on April 13, 2012, 04:48:46 PM
I'm a newbie - I just built a fetzer valve boost from run off groove. I really like it, but I want more output (db) from it. Can I coax more volume out

I'm assuming you're after 'clean headroom' here?  As in more volume without increasing the distortion? 

keep in mind there's a limit to how large of a signal you can feed into your amp before the amp starts clip the signal and adds distortion.  Perhaps you can just turn up your amp?

or alternatively, are you already driving the crap out of your amps first stage and giving you some nice crunch, and you want to bring this up from crunch to the wickedest distortion level imaginable?  In that case you'd be better off with a pedal that clips your signal along with boosting it to give you the MOAR DISTORTION goods

sault

Okay, so let's look at the numbers: