How do I wire a Stupidly Wonderful Tone Control in a Fuzz Factory clone?

Started by Nicofromfrance, April 25, 2012, 08:18:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nicofromfrance

Hi all,

Here is a Fuzz Factory clone I purchased from Musikding and built recently:

I am pretty happy with it so far, as it is my first build. But as many users also do, I'd like to tame the excess of trebble that it can provide, with the help of a tone control. I came accross the Stupidly Wonderful Tone Control mod http://www.muzique.com/lab/swtc.htm, which seems to work very well with fuzz. I'd like to do the first one:

The problem is that I don't have lot of skills when it comes to read an electronic schematic as I'm still a beginner, I have difficulties to translate the schematic into a "physical" scheme, so as to know how to wire it to my Fuzz clone. So far I manage to make that (my scheme is adapted from another scheme I found there http://forum.dijonstock.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=10626):

Could you guys tell me if this is a good way to wire the SWTC mod to my Fuzz? I chose a default value of 100k for the tone pot, is there a better value in your opinion, considering the Volume pot of the Fuzz clone has a 5K value?

Thanks in advance!    ;)

Govmnt_Lacky

According to the schematic you provided, this is how you would need to alter the drawing that you posted:

1) REMOVE the connection you have (Pink line) between the Tone pot and the Volume pot.

2) REMOVE the Ground connection from the Tone pot.

3) CONNECT the Tone pot (where the Ground used to be) to the Volume pot (where the Pink line used to be)

Of course, this would not be installed directly between the Input and Output jacks so you will need to trace the circuit to find out where it needs to be installed  ;)

Good Luck  ;D

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

Nicofromfrance