Constant Current Source; Matching Resistors

Started by liquids, April 30, 2012, 02:25:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

liquids

I've found some info online about 'constant current sources' for the sake of testing.... 

I am trying to 'confirm' the measurements I am getting from my DMM in regards to 'matching' some 100 ohm 1% resistors. 

Absolute resistance is less important than 'matched' resistance...

My DMMs are clearly not up to the task of stable, accurate, reliable measurement down to 1/100th of an ohm; however I seem to be able get repeatable measurements enough to 'bucket' sort resistors them withing +/- .1 ohm....maybe.

Anyhow, I was told that if I had a constant current source (say, 1-10mA), I could measure voltage drop across the resistors to 'confirm' or refute my 'bucket' measurements/matching, via measuring voltage drop across the resistors under constant current load.

I've never tried this before, and a little concerned I'll sacrifice a lot of op amps and resistors trying this and that out without further assistance....so I'm asking for help with arranging a constant current source, in detail, specifically for this purpose....and with some understanding so that if I should encounter this need again with other values I'd be able to tweak it accordingly.

From what I read, a rail/rail (CMOS?) op amp or one that the output can safely swing to ground (LM358??)...a transistor with the base-emitter junction in the loop...some resistors....etc.

Ideally I'd get a 1mA or 10mA current source....and one that will be able to handle very small resistance loads (10R-100R)....from there I can measure voltage drop across the resistors and match resistors?

I'm confused about how ideally to power the op amp, how and what voltage to 'feed' it's inputs, and how to avoid currents like 10mA where the heat produced might affect the resistor and then the voltage drop, ad infinitum..

:o http://www.ecircuitcenter.com/circuits/curr_src1/curr_src1.htm   ???