Starting my own DIY fuzz face

Started by ZonicYouthster, May 22, 2012, 12:26:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZonicYouthster

Hiya folks!

This is apparently my first box that I'm going to build and I'm making it a fuzz face.
The only problem is, well, lets just say I have a billion questions (not really, just trying to get your attention, ha!) about this work.
Please bear with me, I am a complete novice at this stuff and I normally work on guitars instead of being a mad scientist of creating a stompbox.
So here it goes:

1.) what kind/type/source should I get my beginner-like kit or sites or markets where I should buy my DIY pedal?
I found this website http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=101&Itemid=26
I believe this is one of the few stop DIY pedals or fuzz faces to build your own work. If not the best, at least I thought it should be, could you recommend me another?

(Keeping in mind that I haven't brought anything yet. Until I have further completed the first task, I will eventually work on quickly)

2.) I'm not trying to build the ultimate fuzz face, which I already knew it will take forever to build one, but I am steady looking
to build a fuzz face that has knobs that separately controls the volume and/or level, drive, control (for oscillating purposes, which i'll get to later)
Once I have a kit, I probably need guidance of help, or maybe not on building it.
Honestly, I felt like a no-brain loser when I'm typing this questions and help. Even though this is my first stompbox, I still felt embarrassed to ask.

that is all folks, until further question remain about this work I'm concentrating on, I'll keep an update. But for now, I just need an answer about the first and maybe the second task at the same time as well.

REALLY REALLY APPRECIATED YOUR HELP!  :D

ZonicYouthster

forgot to mention about the first task: