Need help with Hendrix JHF1 fuzz face input trimpot mod

Started by dwrockdoctor, June 07, 2012, 08:38:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dwrockdoctor

Hi everyone, my first post here and my first question!

Basically, I want to add an internal trimpot to the input of my Dunlop Hendrix JHF1 fuzz face. I usually find that the most usable tone I get out of this pedal is when my guitar volume is lowered to about 8 on the dial and want to get that tone with my guitar volume on full. I have basic soldering skills but am a complete beginner at reading a schematic and I am having trouble finding out which of the colored wires connecting the circuit board is the one running from the input jack to circuit board so I can wire in a trimpot...

Here is a schematic I found online of the Hendrix fuzz face:

My guess is the that the pink line in the diagram going from the top lug of the input jack to the circuit board is the wire that you would solder an internal trimpot onto between the input jack and circuit? Here is a photo of the fuzz face circuit board and an arrow that I added pointing to the brown wire that I think is indicated by the diagram I added earlier...

This brown wire is going to a terminal on the circuit board labelled TP2. Is it as simple as unsoldering this brown wire from the circuit board and adding a mini input trimpot between the brown wire and the circuit board at TP2?

Sorry if my terminology and knowledge is primitive, I am basically a complete beginner but am willing to learn and would appreciate any help :)

Cheers everyone!

Govmnt_Lacky

Quote from: dwrockdoctor on June 07, 2012, 08:38:57 AM
Here is a schematic I found online of the Hendrix fuzz face:

My guess is the that the pink line in the diagram going from the top lug of the input jack to the circuit board is the wire that you would solder an internal trimpot onto between the input jack and circuit?