Debugging a factory MXR Phase 90 with a hot battery

Started by BobP, June 18, 2012, 03:19:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BobP

Hi all - I bought a broken Phase 90 (Rev. D) and am trying to debug it but the battery gets crazy hot right away. So far all I've been able to achieve was:

- getting a 9.31v reading at the board, which dropped to .86v with a cable plugged in;
- working LED

I've read about the hot battery issue and since this is a factory unit I don't know where the short would be, unlike say a solder bridge of a home built unit. Some of the components (4 of the 5 transistors, 1 diode) have a clear amber colored 'sealant' looking material (dry) at the solder points (under side of board) that seems to be bleeding onto other traces. It seems factory and yet out of place as well. (Apologies if this is some common thing, I am a noob.)

Also, in the short time I had the (new) battery plugged in, it cooked it to the point that its output was 8.3 when I unplugged it, and 8.5 about 20 mins later. I don't think it will last long enough to get reliable meter readings so, what next?

Paul Marossy

In my experience, a hot battery is the result of a direct short of the postive leg of the power supply to ground. Does the thing work at all? Does it work with a wall wart, or same thing with that?

Maybe the battery snap has an internal short or someone that didn't know what they were doing tried to replace the battery snap and wired it backwards.

That "clear amber colored 'sealant' looking material (dry)" is most likely solder rosin. You can carefully scrape it off, it won't hurt anything.

BobP

Effect isn't working.

Battery cable checks out ok. It didn't come with a wall wart, but the guy I bought from said it didn't work either way (AC or 9V).

Paul Marossy

OK, well that makes sense. If the power supply was shorting out, then it shouldn't be working, and indeed it isn't.