Need a little help with VREF

Started by NC30, June 24, 2012, 12:12:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NC30

Hello people,

Nice forum you've got going here. I'll take a good look around and surely stick around.  :icon_wink:

Anyway... I have a query regarding the VREF point in an overdrive circuit. I'm used to seeing it before transistors and op-amps, for reasons I understand, but the pedal I'm studying has VREF connections after any boosting, at points I would normally expect to see a ground connection (filter, output level). What exactly is this connection for?

Can I post the name and schematic for this commercial pedal? I'm kinda unsure after reading the forum guidelines.

Any help appreciated. Cheers.

Earthscum

VRef is (note: usually) half your supply voltage. This gives the maximum amount of signal swing throughout the circuit.  Since most of the stages will want to bias around this point, you can use a VRef to ensure they are all biased along a common rail.

I'm guessing that the first couple stages are "self biased", in that there is a resistor network set up to cause the input to settle at a certain bias, independent of the rest of the circuit. An example of that would be if you used a simple transistor boost in front of some op amp circuit. The "boost" would probably be self biased for a couple reasons (feedback, needs a different VRef, etc) while the Op amp would most likely want a half supply reference. Another example would be using CD4049's and Op Amps. The 4049 will self bias, and (again) the op amp would want half supply bias.

That help at all?

(also, you can name the circuit, I believe there's no harm there... we can usually look up the schem if needed, Free Info Society has a nice database).
Give a man Fuzz, and he'll jam for a day... teach a man how to make a Fuzz and he'll never jam again!

http://www.facebook.com/Earthscum

NC30

The circuit is the 1992 Marshall Bluesbreaker overdrive pedal. Straight forward in most respects.