Anyone built the Simple Phaser or know if this thing works?

Started by chumbox, June 29, 2012, 01:43:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

timd

Total noob question, but what defines a "phaser stage?" Is this a stage that is standardized and repeats with no variation?

deadastronaut

no idea, but interested to read about this..

we need rick!!!.. ;)
https://www.youtube.com/user/100roberthenry
https://deadastronaut.wixsite.com/effects

chasm reverb/tremshifter/faze filter/abductor II delay/timestream reverb/dreamtime delay/skinwalker hi gain dist/black triangle OD/ nano drums/space patrol fuzz//

daverdave

A 'phaser stage' typically refers to an all-pass filter section, the filter pases all frequencies but causes a 90 degree phase shift at the centre frequency set by the timing components (usually the capacitor and resistor making a voltage divider pasive filter at the non-inverting input in the case of a typical first order all-pass used in the majority of phasers).

Ganging multiple identical first order filters together in series causes the input signal frequency content to be shifted at certain frequencies, 180 degrees at the centre frequency and upto 360 degrees at the 'stopband' frequency range (frequency range higher or lower than the cutoff depending on the setup of the timing components) when using two all-pass filters. Usually the cutoff of the allpass filters are varied by varying the resistors in the timing network of each all-pass simultaniously.

I can't see the circuit diagram because I'm at work, but I'll hazard a guess that it's using typical op-amp allpass filter section. If you look for the all-pass on google then you'll find far more info.

Thomeeque

Just in case you did not notice:  to get classic phaser fx there must be yet LFO added (source of "0-12V control DC") and circuit as-is requires bipolar power supply. For guitar signal input buffer will be probably neccessary too.