Need help on how to ID the terminals!

Started by JTay216, July 22, 2012, 04:45:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JTay216

I am new to this and have been reading books and watching videos on how to build stompbox's. So now I want to give it a shot. I saw an article about the tweak-o box with dam near step by step instructions. I was told that it would be very good to build for a 1st timer. Now the problem I have is while looking at the PCB layout for this build It shows you where the terminals are (because the step by step.), however there is no real difference in the symbols used in this drawing to show the difference. Now using that guide a reference to further my knowledge I noticed once I looked at other boards I had no Idea where the terminals are. So any one that can tell me what to look for it would be very helpful. I think they might be the little squares on the board. Either way please let me know. Thanks JTay!

Jdansti

Welcome!!! :)

Is this the layout drawing you have a question about?

(https://www.smallbearelec.com/Projects/TweakO/TweakO.htm)

Which terminals are you referencing (pots, jacks, switch, capacitors, etc)?
  • SUPPORTER
R.G. Keene: EXPECT there to be errors, and defeat them...

smallbearelec

Hi--

I think you were looking at my How-To on making a printed circuit board. I used the Tweak-O as an example there, and I presumed that the reader would be familiar with that circuit and with basic construction techniques. All of this is a couple of levels beyond where you want to start. The previous poster set you straight by pointing to the article in Projects that focuses on building the Tweak-O on perfboard:

https://www.smallbearelec.com/Projects/TweakO/TweakO.htm

This is how I suggest starting, and a full kit is available:

http://www.smallbearelec.com/servlet/Detail?no=4

Regards
SD

JTay216