News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Transistors

Started by marcdemersKNG, September 06, 2012, 12:12:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

marcdemersKNG

Hello everybody, I'm just getting into building pedals, I've been building guitars for years, but now I want to branch into something new, could anyone please fill me in on how the values of transistors affect the the amount of fuzz or gain? My first project is a fuzz box. And I want to design it from scratch, give myself a real challenge and so if there is any good pages on the theory of designing circuits and what not it'd be greatly appreciated!  ;D

Thanks, Marc

Pyr0

Kesh

I'm also figuring out how transistors work at the moment. A great tutorial for how clean, 1 transistor amplifiers work is at http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/~jcgl/Scots_Guide/experiment/lab/expt5/page1.html

One main point is that the main effects are determined not by the transistors, but the components (mainly resistors) around them. Transistor values more set upper limits on what you can do.

Some circuits though (like the fuzz face) are more transistor-centric, and values like hfe matter.

marcdemersKNG

Thanks guys, I live in ontario, any idea where I can get a DMM? I'd much prefer to not have to order one

nightendday

Quote from: marcdemersKNG on September 06, 2012, 09:12:57 PM
Thanks guys, I live in ontario, any idea where I can get a DMM? I'd much prefer to not have to order one

princess auto has a bunch of them, I got one for 4.99$ that had HFE reading on it.

I'm in st catharines ontario

marcdemersKNG

Well thanks, my fellow Ontarian

LucifersTrip

Quote from: marcdemersKNG on September 06, 2012, 12:12:25 PM
Hello everybody, I'm just getting into building pedals, I've been building guitars for years, but now I want to branch into something new, could anyone please fill me in on how the values of transistors affect the the amount of fuzz or gain?