Sorry if it's been mentioned...Fairchild is discontinuing the 1N914.

Started by Nocaster Cat, September 07, 2012, 11:24:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nocaster Cat

Pollinator95

*Bangs head against table*
Hopefully there's an even greater supply of them left than the discontinued transistors.
WARNING: I AM A NOOB

artifus

news flash! horse and cart to be superseded by the auto mobile!

Quote from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsolescence#Technical_obsolescenceTechnical obsolescence may occur when a new product or technology supersedes the old, and it becomes preferred to use the new technology in place of the old, even if the old product is still functional. Historical examples of superseding technologies causing obsolescence include higher-quality multimedia DVD over videocassette recorder and the telephone, with audio transmission, over the telegraph's coded electrical signals. On a smaller scale, particular products may become obsolete due to replacement by a newer version of the product.

coming soon: amishdiystompboxes.com - pigeon post(s) only.

:P

Kesh

pappasmurfsharem

Quote from: Kesh on September 07, 2012, 01:22:03 PM
haven't they been selling 1n4148s as 1n914s for years?

I remember seeing a post somewhere where somebody measured the differences between the two, and they were pretty darn close to eachother

**edit**

Found it

QuoteThe plot below shows measured and LTspice predictions for these four diodes. I do not have a SPICE model for the 1N270 diode, so I instead used a similar 1N34A Germanium point-contact diode in the simulation. Also, the 1N4148 and 1N914 SPICE models are essentially identical, so their plots overlay each other and only one is visible.

Analysis