Troubleshoot for 12AU7 Valvecaster w/ SHO Boost

Started by tubetroubles, September 07, 2012, 12:18:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tubetroubles

I am building my first pedal and wanted to do an "always on" SHO boost followed by a switchable 12AU7 Valvecaster in a single enclosure. I built the pedal to my schematic and ran into nothing but silence when I tried to engage the valvecaster portion of the circuit. Without the switch engaged, the SHO boost on it's own sounds wonderful. Actually with the 25K trim pot/22K drain resistor combo the clean boost can get unbelievably loud. But, alas, when I switch on the valvecaster portion I get nothing. I ran some DC voltage checks and found that when the switch is off, the V+ voltage is right around 9V (which is what I would expect). However, with the switch engaged it drops off to 3.4V.

I know I'm probably missing something incredibly obvious, but I'm a total novice when it comes to circuit design and was wondering if you guys had any comments on the circuit or where I might have gone wrong. Appreciate the input!

iccaros

I can not see the picture added here at work, but if you can post your voltages, and what is your power source?

puretube

Besides the chance of partially cancelling signal through the combined Rk,
the big problem is the PS:
can it deliver the required ~150mA for the filaments?
That voltage-drop tells stories...

tubetroubles

Thanks for the feedback! Sadly I can't access aron nelson's website from work....have to check out that link when I get home.

...and whoops...Pin's 3 and 8 are not actually connected. Forgot to update the schematic to reflect that. I moved the gain pot over to the first stage cathode and wired the second stage (pin 8) directly to ground as done on Matsumin's original design. This should resolve the partially canceled signal puretube mentioned, but still no sound.