Chorus hiss - source?

Started by herrdoktor, September 10, 2012, 08:30:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

herrdoktor

I know this topic has already been discussed in numerous threads,
but I would like to understand some things about hiss.
I bought a chorus that is a clone or almost of a BOSS CE except that it  uses a MN3207 supplied to 5V.
I have a loud noise when the pedal is turned on so I changed almost everything (I'm an engineer)
except for the BBD and its clock looking for something that justifies it (voltage regulator, OPAMPs, electrolytic caps etc..)
I read a lot about the  filter anti-aliasing and  reconstruction filter ...  and I also changed the caps and resistors
like original BOSS scheme, without consequences.

The question is:
Is the MN3207 BBD in its new version against the MN3007 adopted in BOSS CE Pedal  
that produce this noise and so it's impossibile to avoid?

Mark Hammer

The principle difference between the 300x and 32xx series is their ability to run on lower supply voltages, and the flipped ground-polarity.  Just how that would affect S/N is beyond me.  In theory, the frequent use of 15V supply voltages for MN3007-based circuits might facilitate better S/N ratios....if only it meant such circuits exploited the greater available headroom and goosed the input.  The fact is, however, that chorus, and BBD-based devices in general, run at unity gain, and the BBD itself has much lower headroom than the supply would support, so any change in noise levels is unlikely to be a result of supply voltage IMHO.

The history of BBD-based circuits has been one of eternally balancing off bandwidth against delay time against noise.  You can always get more bandwidth, if you're willing to sacrifice either noise-control or delay time.  You can always get more delay time if you're willing to sacrifice bandwidth or put up with noise.  Some circuits sit riiiiiiiiiiigghhht on the edge of that perfect balance.