SPDT or DPDT which is best for switching a capacitor on a toggle switch?

Started by daryl, October 04, 2012, 10:10:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daryl

I'm new to electronics,  I am modding a Big Muff style pedal.

I want to add a toggle switch to change a single capacitor (Film or Ceramic) to a different value.

From what I understand it would possible to use a SPDT or DPDT switch, but i'm not sure if i'm correct.

Questions:
1. Can I use a SPDT or a DPDP? as in my above drawing?
2. Are there any other benefits or drawbacks from either method? or are they effectively the same?

daryl

Picture updated with correct picture now.

daryl

JustinFun

As you're modding an existing pedal, I'd definitely go for the DPDT option. That way you can solder the caps securely to the lugs of the switch rather than have them floating between switch and board.

If you were building your own you could use SPDT and mount the caps on the board.

merlinb

Quote from: JustinFun on October 05, 2012, 05:22:22 AM
As you're modding an existing pedal, I'd definitely go for the DPDT option. That way you can solder the caps securely to the lugs of the switch rather than have them floating between switch and board.

If you were building your own you could use SPDT and mount the caps on the board.

Here is alternative arrangement that addresses both arguments:

daryl

Can someone explain how that works, I can't get my head around how it is switching between caps.

It looks like no matter which way the switch is the two caps are always in series. Or is it something to do with electricity following the path of least resistance and bypassing the capacitor when a path with less resistance is offered?

Resynthesis

I'm not an expert but I assume it's least resistance (reactance maybe). In the position shown the signal passes through C2 but takes the short circuit route to OUT and vice versa.

slacker