First Time Fuzz Face Build - Help Identifying Problem

Started by pastor_ron, November 03, 2012, 08:30:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pastor_ron

Hey! I'm new here. I've gotten some help at another DIY forum, but it's been offline for a while now, and I thought I'd look for some help here.

A quick history: I am building my first DIY pedal - a Dallas Arbiter Ge PNP Fuzz Face (no LED or DC Power). I bought a populated board off of eBay, and then purchased the enclosure, jacks and switch through PedalPartsPlus. It's been a major learning experience as there were no written instructions, and I'm not experienced with electronics other than changing pots/pickups on my guitars. I've learned a lot, but am still very green. I've made some mistakes (didn't know the correct pinout for my transistors and put them in wrong, had the polarity of the caps wrong, didn't have it ground properly) but have corrected all of the ones I've been able to identify. I have a good strong bypass signal but absolutely no sound when the effect is engaged (with a battery and input cable connected). I've checked the continuity of all of the paths on the board, and everything seems okay, although I only get a beep if there is an actual track. So for instance, there is no beep from the + to the - side of the polarized capacitors. I don't know if there should be continuity between components. Before correcting the pinout I tested the hfe's of the transistors in my multimeter and they both checked out okay, so I assume they are working correctly. At this point it is above my level of understanding to pinpoint exactly what is going on.

I've included some pictures. If any other shots are needed please let me know. A couple of other notes: