News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

PT2399 12 string emulator

Started by psychedelicfish, November 07, 2012, 01:35:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

psychedelicfish

I'm very sorry if this post is irritating in some way shape or form, but anyway;
I was thinking about a pedal using a pt2399 to create a slightly delayed signal, then applying some kind of clean octave up to the output of the 2399 (as I understand it, the output from the 2399 is purely the delayed signal) and then mixing it with the original signal to emulate the sound of a 12 string guitar. Unfortunately for me, I'm still a bit of a noob, and am incapable of designing something like this myself. Can any of you who have a better knowledge of the chip (and electronics in general ;)) help me out?
Thanks,
Edward
If at first you don't succeed... use bigger transistors!

psychedelicfish

Please don't get too annoyed if this is in completely the wrong place. If this is the case, can some one redirect me to the right place?
If at first you don't succeed... use bigger transistors!

Jdansti

Your probably in the right place if you plan to do any heavy digital work and programming to get your effect.  You could have also posted in the "Building Your Own Stompbox forum.

Just a little searching on the web reveals that there some choruses that do a pretty good job of emulating a 12 string. You might want to try to find one you like and see if there's a schematic or layout for it.
  • SUPPORTER
R.G. Keene: EXPECT there to be errors, and defeat them...

anchovie

There's no way to DIY a clean octave up. that works with chords without using something programmable like a Spin FV1, in which case you don't need a PT2399 as you can write the pre-delay into the code. Is the pre-delay really necessary though? Strumming 12 strings at once isn't really different to strumming 6 in terms of timing.