DIYstompboxes.com

DIY Stompboxes => Digital & DSP => Topic started by: RaceDriver205 on January 27, 2007, 09:28:12 PM

Title: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on January 27, 2007, 09:28:12 PM
Alright all. Just finished an RF transmission system the other day. It uses 433MHz modules and ATTiny13s, and has enormous range.
I figured this could easily be adapted for switching on 4 separate effects from afar, so enjoy.

http://www.geocities.com/race_driver205/rftranceiver.pdf (http://www.geocities.com/race_driver205/rftranceiver.pdf)
(Note: geocities has 4.2MB/hour download limit, and file is 0.5MB. You might need to wait your turn  ;D)
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on January 28, 2007, 09:34:19 PM
Surely someone must be interested in this? Lots of people have asked about remote switching before...
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Chuck on February 12, 2007, 06:26:45 PM
I'm soaking it in.  :)
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Dave_B on April 23, 2007, 07:51:14 AM
I just discovered this.  I've been looking for something to launch model rockets.  This is 80% what I need.  Now to find a U.S. distributor...

Thanks RM!
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on April 23, 2007, 08:13:19 AM
You can launch from about 200 meters away if you like  ;)
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Conguito on April 23, 2007, 06:25:02 PM
It's possible to modify this circuit to transmit/receive audio signals?
Salu2.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Chuck on April 23, 2007, 06:45:34 PM
I think the reason they don't use RF to launch rockets is the effects a stray signal may have.
Unless of course you don't care if it goes off without warning, whenever it wants.

And I think you can get em at www.sparkfun.com or Mouser.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on April 23, 2007, 07:32:04 PM
QuoteIt's possible to modify this circuit to transmit/receive audio signals?
No
QuoteI think the reason they don't use RF to launch rockets is the effects a stray signal may have.
Unless of course you don't care if it goes off without warning, whenever it wants.
Yeah thats a good point. I doubt it would happen, because the receiver checks the incoming signals are valid.
But that said, a hard wired connection is still the safest.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: hgamal on April 23, 2007, 10:09:16 PM
What about to send midi messages, is it possible?
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Dave_B on April 23, 2007, 10:09:34 PM
You guys are right, it wouldn't be safe enough to have a single signal.  My plan has been to use an AVR on either end, one generating an FSK or binary combination (I obviously haven't looked at the data sheets that closely) while the receiving end verifies it.  Here's another U.S. source (http://www.rentron.com/PicBasic/RemoteControl.htm) for 433mhz modules. 

As an aside, adding "robotics" to my AVR-related Google searches really seems to clean up the results.   :icon_wink:
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on April 23, 2007, 11:16:31 PM
QuoteWhat about to send midi messages, is it possible?
Yes possibly, but im not sure how midi signals work.
QuoteHere's another U.S. source for 433mhz modules. 
You might want to check these guys out: http://www.xenon-tech.com/index_ecat.php?cPath=10 (http://www.xenon-tech.com/index_ecat.php?cPath=10). They've got paypal.
QuoteYou guys are right, it wouldn't be safe enough to have a single signal.  My plan has been to use an AVR on either end, one generating an FSK or binary combination
Thats pretty much how my tranceiver set works. It sends 4-bit words, with a start signal pulse (of set width) before each word. Instead of having the receiver output the word, it could simply check the word is correct (say 1011), and then activate 1 output. Odds of a misfire wouldn't be much greater than with a hard-wire.
As I remember, the word length can be extended to 8bits.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Chuck on April 24, 2007, 03:52:28 PM
MIDI messages are 8 bit.  MIDI commands may use 1-3 messages, or even a nibble of less then 8 bits.
But the basic message format is 8 bits.  So it should work.  One direction of course.  For MIDI send and received you'd need two transmitters and two receivers.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Dave_B on April 24, 2007, 05:42:50 PM
One of the 433mhz receivers I've read about is limited to 2400 baud (vs. MIDI's 31250), so you'd probably want to check that before you buy something for MIDI transmission. 
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: hgamal on April 24, 2007, 05:46:27 PM
MIDI uses 31.256 bits/s transmission rate. Is it possible to transmit data using this rate by 433 MHz radio?
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Chuck on April 24, 2007, 06:22:49 PM
No, you'd have to slow it down to the 2400 baud -- buffering messages in the AVR.
If you're just using it for a switcher it probably won't need any buffer. 

For something like a keyboard, which sends notes, you get the following:
2400 baud is 2400 bits per second.
Using two 8-bit messages per note, you could send 150 notes per second.  Which is wicked fast playing.  :)

Overall if you didn't have a lot of midi clocks, multi synths, and a band transmitting MIDI all at the same time you'll probably be ok with a simple buffer.

In theory anyway.

Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on April 24, 2007, 07:28:29 PM
No I would say this is not appropriate for MIDI transmission. There are other more sophisticated digital modules for these speeds.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Chuck on April 25, 2007, 02:50:31 PM
Like which module?
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on April 25, 2007, 05:21:03 PM
Perhaps "ZigBee"
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: hgamal on April 25, 2007, 06:03:10 PM
I think 2400 bits/s is adequate for control messages like program change. Maybe Controller events like expression pedal or volumes could be sent by this method!
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Dave_B on April 25, 2007, 11:20:27 PM
Quote from: hgamal on April 25, 2007, 06:03:10 PM
I think 2400 bits/s is adequate for control messages like program change. Maybe Controller events like expression pedal or volumes could be sent by this method!
From what I've seen, controller events are typically pretty data intensive.  Is the idea to have all the effects at the soundboard, or are we just talkin?    :icon_smile:
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on April 26, 2007, 03:23:03 AM
This is diffinately not for MIDI. Its only for switching effects on/off remotely from a distance up to 200m.
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: hgamal on April 26, 2007, 11:06:20 PM
Quote from: Dave_B on April 25, 2007, 11:20:27 PM
....From what I've seen, controller events are typically pretty data intensive.  Is the idea to have all the effects at the soundboard, or are we just talkin?    :icon_smile:

I am just thinking about applications where you switch patches, changes volumes and iterate expression parameters like wah, delays or pitch. I have no figures to present but I think it is possible to have such controls over 2400 bauds. Am I wrong?
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: johngreene on June 14, 2007, 06:37:03 PM
Quote from: RaceDriver205 on April 26, 2007, 03:23:03 AM
This is diffinately not for MIDI. Its only for switching effects on/off remotely from a distance up to 200m.
As long as no one has a garage door opener near by!  :icon_lol:

Seriously, 315 MHz and 433.92 MHz are very, very common remote control frequencies for everything from garage door openers to keyfobs for your car. Without a sophisticated addressing, encoding/decoding, FEC scheme, I wouldn't trust it anywhere I really needed it to work when I wanted it to. And even then, being ASK it is totally sensitive to being jammed and/or desensitized.

I've desinged a lot of these type devices, many for remote control of an iPod. Some of which you can buy at Best Buy!

--john
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: Seljer on June 16, 2007, 05:54:29 AM
Quote from: hgamal on April 26, 2007, 11:06:20 PM
Quote from: Dave_B on April 25, 2007, 11:20:27 PM
....From what I've seen, controller events are typically pretty data intensive.  Is the idea to have all the effects at the soundboard, or are we just talkin?    :icon_smile:

I am just thinking about applications where you switch patches, changes volumes and iterate expression parameters like wah, delays or pitch. I have no figures to present but I think it is possible to have such controls over 2400 bauds. Am I wrong?
not sure about the expression pedal stuff (as that probably would require a bit more bandwidth), but you could just make the pedal board with the footswitches to change the patches and such that'd send only the data about what switch was pressed, and make the receiver do all the work of converting it into MIDI program change messages
Title: Re: RF Switcher
Post by: RaceDriver205 on June 16, 2007, 09:28:49 AM
yes, that sounds perfectly feasable.