DIYstompboxes.com

Projects => Beginner Project => Topic started by: Ofek Deitch on December 11, 2011, 03:27:59 PM

Title: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 11, 2011, 03:27:59 PM
Hey Everybody,

I finished building the Boost pedal last night and there was no sound except of some irritating buzzy noises.
I've checked my wiring, and I think the wiring on the stereo jack as all wrong.. so I've done it all over again and then checked the two tips (of the input and output) with my multimeter and it beeps, witch shows their connected correctly. (I think...   ???)

Now there's no buzzy sound except when I move the circuit around, but no guitar sound at all. :(

I'm not sure what to do now..

Any thoughts or direction would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance for any help,
Ofek Deitch :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Tomcat706 on December 11, 2011, 04:01:38 PM
Hey,
I'm kinda new to this too, buy ill see if my fails can help.
Check polarities of the electro caps, I believe stripe side is negative.
Also check the transistor, some base,emitter, collector pinouts can vary, google the data sheet of the model you have which should be written on the flat side for the mfg pinout.
On the bazz fuss I just built, when I reversed the led some strange stuff happened and when the transistor was backwards I just got nasty fuzz.
Hope this helped and Merry Christmas!
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: aron on December 11, 2011, 05:02:57 PM
Is this what you did? Plug in 2 guitar cables - one to the input, the other to the output. Toggle the switch between bypassed and switched in while testing the tips of the cable for continuity with your meter. It should show continuity in one of the pedal settings. If not, yes, your switch or jacks are mis-wired.

Aron
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 12, 2011, 12:38:41 AM
Thanks Aron!
I'll re-check my wiring..  :icon_surprised:
Quote
Plug in 2 guitar cables - one to the input, the other to the output. Toggle the switch between bypassed and switched in while testing the tips of the cable for continuity with your meter
- That's exactly what I did, but there's no sound.. :(

Quote
It should show continuity in one of the pedal settings.
What does it mean??

Thanks again!
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 12, 2011, 12:31:20 PM
I have no idea how to fix this problem.. :(
I have no sound even in bypass

I've uploaded some images of my board and jacks...

Here's the link:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6499908839/in/photostream/ (http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6499908839/in/photostream/)
If you have any ideas, please comment, and tell me!

Thanks :)

Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: .Mike on December 12, 2011, 01:54:21 PM
Looks like at a minimum, there is a problem with how you have your jack wired up.

If your notes on this image (http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6499977543/in/photostream/) are accurate, you have the Tip and Sleeve connected to the switch, and the Ring connected to Ground.

When you insert a mono TS plug into a stereo TRS jack, the barrel of the connector connects the Ring to the Sleeve. In your case, it connects the signal to ground, and you get no sound.

The tip should connect to the switch. The Ring should connect to the battery clip/DC jack. The sleeve should connect to the board ground.

Have a look here: http://www.beavisaudio.com/techpages/StompboxWiring/

:)

Mike
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 12, 2011, 02:39:25 PM
Ohhh.... The sleeve isn't connected to the input on the switch... It's connected to the Ground... :)
So did I connect the Stereo (Input) Jack correctly?

I'll fix the image... :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 12, 2011, 03:00:59 PM
Just finished fixing the images..

Input: http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6500907379/in/photostream (http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6500907379/in/photostream)
Output: http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6500921549/in/photostream/ (http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6500921549/in/photostream/)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 13, 2011, 12:51:45 AM
Any suggestions??  ???
Please help me!
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 13, 2011, 03:13:25 AM
Looking at your picture entitled "3pdt switch", the connections to the nine pins should be:

To PCB          |         +ve         |         From PCB

From Input      |         LED         |          To output

Link                |       Unused    |                  Link


It looks like you're ok, but just check that the input and output jacks go to the centre lug of the outer columns.

Next, take a short length of wire and hold it on the switch lugs that connect to the tips of your jacks. Strum guitar, toggle the switch a couple of times. If you get signal coming through it means your jacks and guitar cables are fine, but your switch is broken or wrongly wired.

Let us know how you get on!
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 13, 2011, 06:43:13 AM
Thanks Mark!
The switch is connected as shown here: http://www.diystompboxes.com/pedals/images/3PDTwiring.jpg (http://www.diystompboxes.com/pedals/images/3PDTwiring.jpg)
I've connected with a short wire the tips together and still I get no sound.. :(
Is it possible that one of the cable jacks are broken?

Thanks again :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 13, 2011, 12:00:54 PM
Have you connected each lead between your guitar and amp to check that the leads are ok?
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 13, 2011, 01:29:47 PM
What do you mean by leads? I'm kind of a beginner.. I'm not sure...  :-\
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 13, 2011, 03:37:52 PM
Sorry. Lead = cable. I know it's an obvious thing, but have you plugged each cable straight into your guitar and amp?

If the leads/cables are ok, I think the next step is to check the continuity of your solder joints on the jacks and switch. Have you got a meter? It's not absolutely necessary but it'll make these checks a lot easier.

Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 13, 2011, 03:55:05 PM
Mark, both of my PL cables work just fine.. and I've checked with my meter the connections of the tips (where the tip of the cable actually touches it) and between the solder joints of the jack to the switch, and from the switch to the other jack, and form jack to jack, and in all these three my meter beeped (it shows there is continuity..)

I want to mention although, that I wasn't sure which solder joint is which, so I touched with one tip of the meter the inside of the jack (the sleeve), and with the other I tried to find out which solder joint is the one connected to it, and then when it beeped I knew it should be connected to Ground.
I've done the same process with the Tip and Ring...

Is that okay?? (If not, then I guess I did mis-wired the jacks..  ;D)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 13, 2011, 04:08:28 PM
Ah - just read the posts above, I see you do have a meter   :icon_lol:

Also, I just noticed the picture of your output jack. It's a switched jack - when you plug your cable in, the tip of the cable pushes 'bent' part of the jack contact away from the 'straight' part. Take a look and you'll see that the tip of the cable only touches the bent part. You need to make sure that you have soldered your wire to the lug that is connected to this. Sorry again if this is obvious and you've already checked it.

Hope that makes some sense. I can't get to my PC, otherwise I'd add some notes to your picture to make things more clear.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 12:58:00 AM
Well thanks again Mark :) , but I've re-checked everything already a hundred times and I still have no clue what's wrong with it..
Also, the 'straight' and the 'bent' part are connected, and I've checked it with my meter by touching the bent part with one tip and then touching one of the two connection points with the other, and in both of them the meter beeped, so I assume it does not matter where I connect my cables between those two... (So I can switch and nothing will change..)

Do you have any more suggestions? Could something be broken?

Thanks again for everything!
Ofek Deitch :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: .Mike on December 14, 2011, 01:07:29 AM
All this troubleshooting, and we don't even know if it's getting power.

Please take some voltages (instructions here (http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=29816.0)), and see how they compare to these:

(http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l9/generalguitar/BoostDebug.jpg)

:)

Mike
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: arma61 on December 14, 2011, 07:22:15 AM
Also, the 'straight' and the 'bent' part are connected, and I've checked it with my meter by touching the bent part with one tip and then touching one of the two connection points with the other, and in both of them the meter beeped, so I assume it does not matter where I connect my cables between those two... (So I can switch and nothing will change..)


yes, they do make contact when the plug is out, as soon as you plug in the plug the "straight" short metal is disconnected from the "bent" one, so, of the two connection ponts, now only one is making contact with the "bent" one. Put a new, unconnected plug into she jack and them meter the contacts... that's the easy way to check which is which.

best of luck.... you'll get it woking, I know I already said this but.... no one f...ing ckt can stay in a "non-working" status for long in this forum!!!!   ;) :D ;D

Ciao

Armando
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 14, 2011, 08:04:34 AM
Yeah, like Armando says, and I explained badly....

(http://i476.photobucket.com/albums/rr124/markeebee/jack-1.jpg)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 09:19:27 AM
All this troubleshooting, and we don't even know if it's getting power.

Please take some voltages (instructions here (http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=29816.0)), and see how they compare to these:

(http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l9/generalguitar/BoostDebug.jpg)

:)

Mike

I'm not sure how to measure the Voltages..
Am I supposed to touch with the negative lead the ground, and with the positive, touch the place I want to measure?
Also, is the multimeter setting in the picture below good for measuring voltages? (I've never done it before, so I'm not sure... :))
http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6510658693/in/photostream (http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6510658693/in/photostream)

BTW, 8.83 is what I got when I touched the Ground and where the positive is connected onto the board with the above setting...

Thanks
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 09:21:32 AM
ohh and the tip on the output is connected to the right place by the way... (I've checked with my meter..   :P)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 10:02:23 AM
Well I think it is the right setting, because I pretty much got almost the same voltageד in the spots you told me to measure..

This is what I got:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6510821583/in/photostream (http://www.flickr.com/photos/71945567@N02/6510821583/in/photostream)

What do you think?

A few more questions:
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 14, 2011, 10:23:43 AM
Hmmmm,  yep, those voltages seem about right, but we have a more fundamental problem.....

So, let's just get this straight:

~  Your guitar works ok
~  Your amp works ok
~  Your cables are ok
~  When you plug your cables in to the pedal, you test between the tip of one cable and the tip of the other cable with your meter, and it beeps ok
~  But then, when you plug the cables into your guitar and amp you get nothing??

I fear that science may be broken and we are now dealing with forces beyond the comprehension of man  :icon_eek:

Am I supposed to connect anything to the third connection point on the Output jack? (The one that gets disconnected when I insert a cable into the jack..)

You don't need to.  

When the switch is off in a True Bypass switch, is the battery still connected? Should I disconnect the Input plug from the Stereo jack? or is it okay to leave it the way it is?

Yes, the battery is still connected.  Best to take the input cable out when you're not using the pedal, to stop the battery running down.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 10:29:46 AM
So what can I do about these unnatural forces?  O.o
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: markeebee on December 14, 2011, 11:01:41 AM
I think that maybe somehow you have got a ground connection and a signal connection mixed up, but I can't see where.  All your pictures look ok.

We need to get help from somebody who actually knows what they're talking about.  Would you mind if I posted a call for help in the main forum?  We will probably get more attention there....
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 11:24:51 AM
No, I don't mind at all.. :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: earthtonesaudio on December 14, 2011, 12:24:36 PM
No signal at all points immediately to the in/out/switch wiring, so everyone has been right to focus attention there.

If you don't have an audio probe (http://diy-fever.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/audio_probe.gif), you should make one to help figure out where the sound stops.  In the meantime you can check continuity at least:

Plug a cable into the input jack, make sure you have continuity between the cable sleeve and all circuit ground points.  Then make sure you have continuity between the cable tip and the input side of the little yellow cap.  One last thing to check on the input side: resistance between tip and sleeve.  With no guitar connected it should be nearly infinite.

Then plug a cable into the output jack and do similar steps.  Check that the sleeve goes to circuit ground and that tip goes to the - side of the 10u output cap.  Also check resistance between tip and sleeve, it should be about 100k.

Finally test for continuity between input cable tip and output cable tip.

Repeat the above steps with the switch in the opposite position.


To test, plug cables into the input and output.  Leave the other ends of the cables disconnected (i.e. do not hook up a guitar or amp).  You can apply power to the circuit but for this test it is not necessary.
If everything is wired correctly you should get the following results:

[resistance - location]
When switch is set to "effect on":
infinite(ish) - input cable tip to ground
zero - input cable tip to input cap lead
zero - input cable sleeve to ground
100k - output cable tip to ground
zero - output cable tip to 10uF (-) lead
zero - output cable sleeve to ground
infinite - input cable tip to output cable tip

And when the switch is set to bypass the effect:
infinite - input cable tip to ground
infinite - input cable tip to input cap lead
zero - input cable sleeve to ground
infinite - output cable tip to ground
infinite - output cable tip to 10uF (-) lead
zero - output cable sleeve to ground
zero - input cable tip to output cable tip
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 01:09:51 PM
Does:
Infinite resistance = 0 on the meter?
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: slacker on December 14, 2011, 01:16:28 PM
Set your meter to measure resistance or to the continuity test setting and hold the meter leads so that the tips are waving about in the air and not touching anything, there's now infinite resistance between the leads, so whatever is displayed then = infinite resistance.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: arma61 on December 14, 2011, 01:26:27 PM

Glad you have the jack connected properly, one prob less!  ;)

Have you tested the switch with the multimeter ? I never saw a switch like you show on your pictures

1 2 3
4 5 6
7 8 9

in a position 4 5 6 should beep respectively with 1 2 3, and "no beep" with the 7 8 9
on the other position 4 5 6 should beep respectively with  7 8 9, and "no beep" with 1 2 3

once you got what's your middle row, that's the right horizontal orientation of the switch.

Sorry if this sounds too banal... but being the voltage reading almost ok it's worth a try, and takes 10 secs ;)

Ciao
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 01:46:51 PM
I've just re-checked the switch, and it works great. So the switch is not the source of the problem.

But what I get when the switch is switched to Bypass is:
zero - input cable tip to ground
infinite - input cable tip to input cap lead
zero - input cable sleeve to ground
zero - output cable tip to ground
about 100k - output cable tip to 10uF (-) lead
zero - output cable sleeve to ground
zero - input cable tip to output cable tip
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: slacker on December 14, 2011, 01:58:27 PM
Unsolder the wires from the tips of the jacks to the switch, better to do it at the jacks so as not to risk damaging the switch, and then measure the resistance between the tips and sleeves. What do you get?
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 02:43:20 PM
Ok, so I've unsoldered the tips' cables from the jacks, and when I check for resistance I get infinite in both Input and Output.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: earthtonesaudio on December 14, 2011, 03:14:08 PM
I've just re-checked the switch, and it works great. So the switch is not the source of the problem.

But what I get when the switch is switched to Bypass is:
zero - input cable tip to ground                       This is problem #1, cable tip should not be connected to ground ever.
infinite - input cable tip to input cap lead          Fine
zero - input cable sleeve to ground                  Fine
zero - output cable tip to ground                     Problem #1 again
about 100k - output cable tip to 10uF (-) lead   I only see one way this could happen.  See linked simulation.
zero - output cable sleeve to ground                Fine
zero - input cable tip to output cable tip           Fine


A single point failure!  I think we're close to solving this.


It appears you input signal wire is shorted to ground.  Check this out: link (http://www.falstad.com/circuit/#%24+1+5.0E-6+1.5642631884188172+52+5.0+43%0Ac+496+208+608+208+0+1.0E-7+0.0%0Aw+608+208+640+176+0%0Aw+640+176+656+256+0%0Aw+656+256+704+192+0%0Aw+704+192+736+208+0%0Ac+736+208+848+208+0+1.0E-5+0.0%0Ar+848+208+848+384+0+100000.0%0AS+432+192+496+192+0+0+false+0%0Aw+496+176+496+128+0%0Aw+496+128+1024+128+0%0AS+1072+192+1024+192+0+1+false+0%0Aw+1024+128+1024+176+0%0Aw+272+192+432+192+0%0Aw+272+384+432+384+0%0Aw+432+384+432+192+0%0Aw+432+384+848+384+0%0Ag+432+384+432+432+0%0Aw+848+384+1152+384+0%0Aw+1152+192+1072+192+0%0Aw+1024+208+848+208+0%0Ax+237+183+332+189+0+24+Input+Tip%0Ax+239+375+373+381+0+24+Input+Sleeve%0Ax+1139+171+1254+177+0+24+Output+Tip%0Ax+1154+365+1308+371+0+24+Output+Sleeve%0Ax+399+287+497+293+0+24+FAULT%21%21%21%0Ax+655+172+723+178+0+24+Circuit%0A)

Note the short could also be at the output jack tip, or on the switch.  Basically anywhere along that top wire.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: slacker on December 14, 2011, 03:17:52 PM
Ok that's what should happen. The sleeves of the jacks are connected together though the black wires and the connections on the perf board, but there is no connection between the tips and the sleeves.
Now connect a wire between the tip connections on the jacks. If you now measure the resistance you should get zero between the 2 tips, and zero between the 2 sleeves, but infinite between the tips and sleeves. If you do then plug your guitar into the input jack and your amp into the output and you should hear your guitar through the amp.

EDIT: I posted this at the same time as Alex, I was replying to your last post. What I'm asking you do is to try and find out where the short is.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 03:28:18 PM
How can I find where the tip shorts with the ground?

Thank you! :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: earthtonesaudio on December 14, 2011, 04:03:09 PM
From the pictures I'm actually inclined to think the output wire between board and switch is the culprit.  The - leg of the output cap is awfully close to that ground bus.

Nevermind, I was looking at the wrong cap.  Don't see a short on the circuit board.  Measure again, this time with the switch set to "effect on".  That ought to isolate the short to one side versus the other.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 04:10:28 PM
But why don't I get sound while bypassing?
Please explain everything as simple as you can because you keep saying smart things a beginner noob like me don't understand..  :-\
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: slacker on December 14, 2011, 04:14:30 PM
He said the input tip was shorted to ground in bypass though, so the problem must be before the board, in fact as there's no connection to ground on the switch that could be shorting anything out  it's pretty much got to be with the jacks in some way.
There's might be a problem on the board as well but I think we need to get bypass working first.

But why don't I get sound while bypassing?

Did you try the last thing I said? "Now connect a wire between the tip connections on the jacks. If you now measure the resistance you should get zero between the 2 tips, and zero between the 2 sleeves, but infinite between the tips and sleeves. If you do then plug your guitar into the input jack and your amp into the output and you should hear your guitar through the amp."

If this does not work, it means you have a problem with the jacks or they are wired incorrectly.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 14, 2011, 04:20:24 PM
Thank you! Now I understand :)

I'll give it a try.
be right back...  ;D
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: earthtonesaudio on December 14, 2011, 04:36:18 PM
From the pictures I'm actually inclined to think the output wire between board and switch is the culprit.  The - leg of the output cap is awfully close to that ground bus.

Nevermind, I was looking at the wrong cap.  Don't see a short on the circuit board.  Measure again, this time with the switch set to "effect on".  That ought to isolate the short to one side versus the other.

Don't mean to interrupt any testing in progress, but I just wanted to clarify this for you.  By this I mean to flip the switch into the non-bypass position, then measure resistances between the cable (input and output) tip and ground, tip and capacitor, as well as the resistance between sleeves and ground.

When you were measuring resistances in the bypass mode, the jumper wire on the 3pdt switch connected your input cable tip to your output cable tip, making it difficult to determine which side was shorted to ground.  With the switch in effect mode, the circuit breaks the connection between the input and output cable tips, so you can then figure out which side is shorted to ground.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: earthtonesaudio on December 14, 2011, 05:20:03 PM
Hm... I should have told you to measure the resistances with the power off.  Looking closer at your solder side photo, the input wire is a little bit close to the V+ (red) pads, and there is some questionable solder splash there.  DC resistance between V+ and Ground will be quite low but it's not healthy for the meter to measure resistances that have current flowing through them.

A good quick check would be to measure the DC voltage on the input cable tip.  Ideally it will be zero volts DC.  It might be a few millivolts, that's pretty normal.  But if it's 9V then you have a solder bridge between the input wire and 9V.
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 15, 2011, 01:58:17 PM
Lots of thanks for your help everyone!
But even with your greatly appreciated help I still don't know how to fix my circuit. I barely understand even what the problem is. Alex, you keep telling me to measure here and there and now I'm totally confused, and don't know what to do...   :-\

Can anybody suggest a really simple way to find what my problem is and explain it to me again and how to fix it?

Thanks again everybody!!!!!! ;D
Ofek Deitch :)
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: arma61 on December 15, 2011, 02:24:58 PM

Try the easy way, or the way I'd do (and I've done  :icon_mrgreen: )

leave out the switch
leave out the jacks
connect + to the board
connect - to the boards and to other 2 spare wires
using a pencil make a ring on your 2 spare gnd wires an put these rings directly on the barrel of the cable coming form the guitar and on the barrel of the cable going to the amp.
do the same rings for you input and output wire and put them on the tips of the above cables
(optional, though recommended,  fix the rings with some electrical tape so they don't move)
connect yout battery/adaptor to + and - goind to the board

so now we know if the circtuit itself is working..... then slowly slowly and one at the time we can add jacks and switch.

good luck

ciao
Armando

Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 15, 2011, 03:49:57 PM
It works!!!!
Thanks Armando!! ;D

So now after I know the circuit works what am I supposed to connect first? Input jack\Output jack\switch?

Thanks Again!  :D
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: arma61 on December 15, 2011, 05:09:30 PM

tada!!! great, at least you've done a good job with the board!! 90% is done!!

I'd start with the output jack, easy.... just two wires.... 2 lugs out of 3 to be choosen, not so many chance to get it wrong, isn't it?  :D

then the input jack...

once both jacks are ok and working, enjoy your creature for a while, this is very important so you relax and think about something else  :D  :D  :D

then the switch, may be a little hard..... but you are starting from a good base..... your effects is working!!


ciao

ps. have you any alligator clips ?

(http://ts4.mm.bing.net/images/thumbnail.aspx?q=1448088635647&id=c8d1e3efc838b7c33d2e61765e9177f1)

they could be usefull for testing the switch with 1 resistor and A LED.



Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 15, 2011, 05:33:58 PM
A second ago, the boost worked great, but now I get nothing most of the time, and once in a while I get a moment of guitar sound, and then nothing.
What do you thing is the problem?

here are some pics: (And I know the board looks horrible... I've made so many mistakes... ;D)

(http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/OfekDeitch/IMG_2053.jpg)

(http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/OfekDeitch/IMG_2052.jpg)

(http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/OfekDeitch/IMG_2051.jpg)

(http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/OfekDeitch/IMG_2054.jpg)

Thanks!
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 16, 2011, 01:28:23 AM
I think I found the problem! :)
It's the 5K pot, normally, there's no sound at all, but when I softly tap (like really barely touching it) the sound comes back and sounds awesome!
Do you think the pot is broken? If yes, will a 10K pot will be good for replacing it?
If not, what do you think is the problem here?
Thanks!!! ;D
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: Ofek Deitch on December 16, 2011, 10:49:41 AM
?
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: CurtisWCole on December 16, 2011, 11:10:49 AM
You can use a 10k pot and solder a 10k resistor across lugs 1 and 3 to make a near 5k.
Hope that helps.

Best of luck.

Curtis
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: arma61 on December 17, 2011, 07:56:34 AM

Do you think the pot is broken? If yes, will a 10K pot will be good for replacing it?


Yes, for testing purpose is ok, a little bit hard to use ....but just turn it from 0 to half of the knob travel slowly ;)

Ciao
Title: Re: No Sound... Not in Bypass and not at all
Post by: earthtonesaudio on December 17, 2011, 05:58:49 PM
Wow, faulty component!  It is somewhat rare for that to be the problem, but it does happen.  Sorry you had to debug such a thing, but I am glad you got it working!