Making a Big Muff clone with switch to toggle a different distortion sound.

Started by davidjnichols, May 11, 2013, 01:10:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidjnichols

Hey guys.  I want to make a Big Muff clone.  I'm thinking the Green Russian version.  I would, however, like to add a mod and I'm not sure exactly how to do it.  I'd like to add an SPDT switch to toggle between the regular muff sound and a more distortion/less fuzz sound (maybe like BSIAB).  I'm not sure exactly how to achieve that.  Here's my idea and schematic I'm referencing:

http://www.pisotones.com/BigMuffPi/psst/schm-green.jpeg

The fuzz comes from the two pairs of diodes, yes?  Could I install a switch that would bypass the first pair of diodes and instead run it through a pair of LEDs or something else?  Anyone else modded this thing to sound less fuzzy and more like a distortion?

davidjnichols

I'm still new to all of this and have a hard time identifying the different sections of a schematic (ie which section produces the fuzz, which caps change bass response, etc).  Is there an easy component swap that can be done to make it more distortiony and less fuzzy?  Kind of like how you can change the diode configuration in a Tube Screamer for a different tone.

LucifersTrip

Before you do too much extra work, check out the numerous mods talked about in this forum...for example, daryl took it pretty far...

http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=99616.0

good luck
always think outside the box

Earthscum

I use mine for Bass. I have a switch that just lifts the first set of diodes completely out. At higher gain settings, you can hear a really nice combination of transistor clipping and diode clipping. Lot less "fuzz" sounding, lots of bassy thickness and more "distortion" sounding. I've been playing with the diodes out and have considered just lifting them permanently and using the switch to lift the second set so it's just full-out transistor saturation.