NPN Based Overdrive Circuit Check, will it work?

Started by Hallmar, February 13, 2013, 07:06:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hallmar

I just drew up a schematic for an NPN based overdrive(or fuzz?) and i don't know how it will act or if it will work.

I know the basics of an amplifier using Common Emitter connections since i'm on my second year of electronic engineering(don't know if that's the correct translation).

I'm a beginner at this, i just started doing DIY Effects about 6 months ago on my own.

Moderator's note: Please use more descriptive subject titles, its helps everyone including yourself. :)
Honey, let's sell the children, move to Zanzibar and start taking Opium, rectaly.

Hallmar

ALSO i forgot to mention that the transistors are either 2N3904 or BC550.
Honey, let's sell the children, move to Zanzibar and start taking Opium, rectaly.

amptramp

Neither transistor has a connection from the positive supply through a resistor to the base, so neither transistor will turn on.

The connections to S1 are wrong.  You want the connection on the bottom of the diagram to be connected directly to the input.  You want the connection from the bottom of S1 to go to ground.

You should try to design around standard values - you will not find a 139K, 8.6K or an 86K resistor as a standard value.

The transistors are not identified, so I cannot comment on the current levels in each stage, but the input impedance looks to be a bit low for running directly from a guitar output.

Hallmar

Quote from: amptramp on February 13, 2013, 09:40:17 AM
Neither transistor has a connection from the positive supply through a resistor to the base, so neither transistor will turn on.

The connections to S1 are wrong.  You want the connection on the bottom of the diagram to be connected directly to the input.  You want the connection from the bottom of S1 to go to ground.