Stereo Tremolo Output 2 inversion

Started by bside2234, October 25, 2013, 04:46:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bside2234

I'm thinking about building a tremolo and I would like stereo outputs (or two outputs whether it's true stereo or not  ;)

How would one go about "inverting" the second outputs signal so I could use two amps and get that alternating tremolo effect rather than both amps pulsing at the same time?
I've tried searching all over and I can't find anything so I think I must be searching for the wrong terms.

Would this require two different LFO's sync'd together or is it possible to invert the second output without cancelling anything?

MaxPower

I'm a bit of a newb so there may well be better ways to do this. Anyways, op amps have an inverting and a non-inverting input (maybe that's just differential op amps?), so you could route the signal through two op amps, one through the inverting input and one through the non-inverting input. As for what op amp to use, I don't know. The 741 (uA741, LM741, etc.) is cheap so you can experiment with it and not lose any sleep over frying a few. Once you figure it out you can try op amps with better specs if needed.

Actually, I don't know if there's a noticeable delay added to a signal going through an op amp circuit and if there is, it may be a good thing as regards phase cancellation. So you might try running one output direct and one output through an inverting op amp (or a transistor, or FET) set to unity gain and seeing how that works out.
What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters, compared to what lies within us - Emerson

duck_arse

bside, search this site for the cardinal tremolo. it is most of what you want, I think, but might need some mods where it splits high/low, and at the output mixing. it will give you some ideas maybe.
don't make me draw another line.

R.G.

There are two issues here. I'm not sure what you mean.