Debugging a Super Collider

Started by Chromavita, October 21, 2013, 04:29:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chromavita

I just recently started getting into this hobby. After successfully building my first two-knob pedal I decided to try something more ambitious and decided on a Earthbound Supercollider clone from Tagboard. I got it together, but I'm only getting a very faint signal, and it isn't very distorted. I'm still a novice with a soldering iron, but I scoured the board looking for bad solder joints or shorts, and I can't find anything. I just got a multimeter to check the Voltages, and Q1 is notably different than the others. Here's what I got:

1.What does it do, not do, and sound like? Only very quiet signal comes through, not very distorted. Signal goes away as Sustain is turned down.
2.Name of the circuit = Earthbound Supercollider
3.Source of the circuit (URL of schematic or project) = http://tagboardeffects.blogspot.com/2012/09/earthbound-audio-supercollider.html
4.Any modifications to the circuit? N
5.Any parts substitutions? No
6.Positive ground to negative ground conversion? N
7.Battery: 9.01V

Q1
C: 6.97
B: 7.83
E:  7.23

Q2
C:7.12
B:0.63
E:1.59

Q3
C:6.98
B:0.62
E:0.05

Q4
C:5.35
B:1.52
E:.93

D1+2
A: 6.98
B: 6.67

D3+4
A: 6.85
B: 7.13

D5
A:8.8
B:9.01

So what can I do with this information? Can it help me narrow down where I might look for a bad connection, or a bad/misplaced part? I checked all of the Transistors in my Multimeter and they all register with farily similar numbers. I've resoldered joints, and looked over the board numerous times, it's getting incredibly frustrating!  :icon_mad: Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks  :icon_mrgreen:

Excuse the sloppy build, I have yet to put it into a box. And sorry for the crappy pictures, all I have at the moment.

GibsonGM

Too bad there's no schematic, or it would be easier to help you out.