Diodes / Distortion / DOD-250 Question

Started by jimbob, October 10, 2003, 04:48:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimbob

I finished my dod-250 and reallly like the sound but i wanted to do a little experimting..I found on theis site a mod but not sure how to actually physically  perform it. This is what it says:
"DOD overdrive 250 and others that have a diode pair creating the distortion at the end of a circuit, you can increase the output level of the circuit with the expense of a little distortion by putting two diodes where there were one. So instead of 2 diodes, you now have four."

Is it saying i  should  solder 2 diodes going one direction and 2 going the other way? On my board there are 2 holes for each diode. How would i add more diodes and where would i place them?

Hopefully this isnt a stupid question- Im still learning-

jim
"I think somebody should come up with a way to breed a very large shrimp. That way, you could ride him, then after you camped at night, you could eat him. How about it, science?"

Joe Hart

Two diodes going in the same direction one after the other (end to end, so you still only have one of them going to ground -- the second one), then two the other way.

Try different diodes, too. I kind of like red LED's. Also, try upping the gain on the IC. I always do that. And different IC's, too.

Good luck!
-Joe Hart

jimbob

Thanks Joe.another question--you sd led's? you can replace the regular diodes w the leds that emit light? if so..it make a difference to the sound?
"I think somebody should come up with a way to breed a very large shrimp. That way, you could ride him, then after you camped at night, you could eat him. How about it, science?"

Joe Hart