Author Topic: new to pedal building  (Read 19574 times)

ncstrat95

new to pedal building
« on: July 04, 2014, 01:00:00 PM »
Hey guys im really interested in building pedals but I have no experience. The closest thing Ive ever done electronically wise was put new pickups in my guitar. So i was wondering what you would recommend for a good beginners project.

Hemmel

Re: new to pedal building
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 01:05:03 PM »
This depends a lot on your electronics experience.
It'd be nice to know if we should suggest either "do a fuzz face" or "read up on basic circuitry"...

ncstrat95

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2014, 02:21:00 PM »
well ive been reading up on soldering components to the board but that's about it.

Hemmel

« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2014, 02:59:25 PM »
Some might disagree, but I would strongly suggest you read a little about circuitry before actually starting soldering a circuit on a board and firing it up.

Aron (the admin here) has a very nice Wiki page where you can easily check what you need before starting your own stompboxes.

ncstrat95

« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2014, 04:55:16 PM »
Ok. I will definitely read all of that. Once I get a good understanding of building what do you think would be a good first project.?

Jdansti

« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2014, 07:11:33 PM »
Welcome!  There's a beginners fuzz project in this beginner's forum.

Here's a good soldering video. The only thing I disagree with in it is where he says to cut the component leads before soldering. I think it's fine to cut them after you solder.

Guitar Gear Reviews

« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2014, 08:04:36 PM »