Author Topic: Change the switch...  (Read 3011 times)

Thökn

Change the switch...
« on: July 23, 2014, 12:58:37 PM »
So, ok. I am a total beginner at this and my project is rather simple to put together but there is one thing that I dont really dare to fix without some tips n trix from you pro guys.

The idea is to put three rather shitty distortion pedals together as one, in one new homemade box. Probably this will sound like a messy apocalyptic pile of crap in the end but that's the goal :icon_twisted:

The problem here is the switches, the pedals are different behringer types and when stripped down there is just a little touchbutton on the circuitboard, you know. I want a stompswitch, even better a toggle cause this thing is not ment to be on the floor.

Is this possible without an obvious fail, can I remove that switch and solder another kind to the board?
I looked around on youtube etc for this but I can't find anything that helps me. I got a hundred other questions for this project but this one stopped the creativity here.

Any thoughts about it anyone? Thanks!

thelonious

Re: Change the switch...
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 04:19:51 PM »
Are there only two leads (wires) on the switch? Does it hard "click" or just feel like a momentary switch?

A "normally open" momentary switch makes the circuit (i.e., connects the wires) only when it's pushed down. A "normally closed" momentary switch breaks the circuit (disconnects the wires) only when it's pushed down. You need to figure out which kind it is. If it's a normally open momentary switch, I'd probably desolder it from the board (carefully! with a solder sucker or desoldering braid) and run wires from the board to a switch like this: http://www.smallbearelec.com/servlet/Detail?no=672. But you need to research the particulars of how Behringer does their switching before you order something like this.