<Debug> JHS TwinTwelve buzz and hiss

Started by Lord9000, December 06, 2018, 11:46:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lord9000

Hello everyone!

I think there always comes this time in life of a diy pedal maker when he runs out of internet resources and has to ask for help.
This is my first post here, so please correct me if I do something wrong.  :icon_rolleyes:

Ok, straight to the point!
I've decided to build a JHS Twin Twelve clone for my friend using this source: http://effectslayouts.blogspot.com/2017/07/jhs-twin-twelve-v1.html
This is my 6th pedal build, so I have some experience but by no means I consider myself an expert, or even good in this field.

I've etched my own PCB, assembled it and hooked it up externally with some alligator wires to test if I did everything right.
Of course, it turned out I didn't. As the old saying tells: "It never works on the first try".
I grabbed a multimeter and started checking if I had any shorts in the circuit. And I found out I had a short between the gate and source of Q1.
I fixed it and started setting up the trimmers. For some reason I was able to reach the recommended 9V only on the two "right" ones. The max setting on the left pair of trimmers only reached about 6-7V. Not discouraged by this fact I hooked up my guitar and started testing. A slight hum was noticeable on higher drive setting, but as long as I didn't exceed the 1/2 of the volume and drive range everything was fine (or at least bearable). The effect sounded as it should, the problems started then I disconnected the guitar. The moment I unplugged the jack, a loud buzz started to come from my amp. The higher the drive and volume, the more aggressive the buzz became. To make it worse, when I tried to max out the controls with guitar connected, an unbearable hiss started. The his would go away (mostly) when I started playing, but it wasn't of any help to me.