GS-500 sustainer / hex pickup

Started by AJDbass, August 24, 2014, 10:34:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AJDbass

Hi,

I know this is not a stompbox, but being a long time lurker I found out there's a lot of knowledge in understanding circuits here. Please bear with my limited English language.

I am trying to understand the circuitry of the Yamaha GS-500 guitar (a seventies guitar/synth controller). The part  I am particularly interested in is hex pickup, sustainer circuit and hex signal out. The problem is, this is quit an old design and I am fairly new to electronics. I have build a few pedals / amplifiers.  I would like to experiment with hex signal modulation (like hex fuzz, trem etc.), but more on that later.

I would like to recreate a hex sustainer based of the concept of the Yamaha GS-500 guitar. It works kind of like an inverted ebow. Instead of sending the amplified signal through an electromagnetic pickup (like an ebow), the amplified signal is send through the strings, which will then vibrate because they are in a magnetic field (iron plate with 2 strong magnets attached at the neckpickup position). There is a circuit for each string. All frets are grounded, and the circuit closes when a string is fretted.

I have found this schematic, which covers the sustainer and signal splitter circuit for hex output:
http://www.joness.com/gr300/service/GS-500_SCHEMATIC.jpg

It is not much, but this is what I found out yet. Please correct me if I'm wrong;

The hex pickup look very similar to tape heads. I found tapeheads can have a impedance in the range of 30 – 300 ohms. The first stage is a 4558 dual opamp. I think it works as a buffer and a signal splitter. I guess the signal is amplified as well? The next stage is a TC5012 non inverting buffer. I think the last stages amplifies the signal; a C945 NPN transistor (low power signal amplifier?) and at last an 2SC2120 NPN transistor.