Another EQ question

Started by canman, September 27, 2014, 10:37:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

canman

I posted a while back about modifying the EQ of the Crunchbox.  Never got around to trying anything out, unfortunately.

This EQ question is regarding the Noisy Cricket 0.5w amp.  I've been thinking about building one with some tweaks, like adding a TMB tone stack. 

This is the schematic I'm looking at for the Noisy Cricket:

The Distortus Maximus seems to have a decent three-band EQ:

Could I replace the existing tone control on the Noisy Cricket with the TMB stack on the Distortus Maximus? 

I'm not very good with schematics, but it looks like the Noisy Cricket tone stack goes into pin 2 of the 386, while the DM tone stack comes from pin 5 of the 386.  Would I be able to do a simple swap, or is that not a good idea because of the tone stack locations relative to the 386 chip in both schematics?  I've read that tone stacks generally suck a lot of the signal so you need to boost the signal somehow, not sure if that's what pins 2 or 5 are doing in these schematics..?

PRR

> you need to boost the signal somehow

Cricket is designed to drive a Loud Speaker directly. Any EQ loss between '386 and speaker is a waste of precious power.

Distortus Maximus is designed to drive the Instrument Input of a guitar amp. Since the '386 is a (small) loudspeaker amp, this plan "needs" some loss after the '386, and the lossy tone-stack does that.

Another detail. The '386 has voltage gain but not a ton of it. The Cricket has a unity-gain input buffer. The Maxy has a high gain input stage.

But the best path may be to wire-up varous combinations and try it. You are unlikely to smoke much more than a $1 LM386. Cheap education.
  • SUPPORTER

duck_arse

^ listen to him.

the cricket tone control is mainly cutting treble going into the amplifier section. the maximus tone section is shaping the output after it's been messed-up by all the amplifier gain.