Is a Klon a must build for a diystompboxes junkie?

Started by Beo, December 14, 2014, 04:11:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beo

I'm a basement guitarist, solder monkey. For all the pedals I've built, I've never put together a Klon. I feel like I got into this hobby a decade after the Klon's heyday... sort of like a teenager rejecting the last generation. Just another OD right? The OCD was nice, and I love the Timmy, and I've done lots of TS variants... why build the Klon...

Even if not a keeper, should every diy'er try a Klon at some point, or is it just another OD?

Ben N

A question only you can answer. It's more complex than the ODs you've built, so you may enjoy the challenge. OTOH, with EHX cloning them for dirt cheap, it's probably not worth the trouble of building it just to try it out.
  • SUPPORTER

mremic01

Quote from: Ben N on December 14, 2014, 07:26:42 AM
A question only you can answer. It's more complex than the ODs you've built, so you may enjoy the challenge. OTOH, with EHX cloning them for dirt cheap, it's probably not worth the trouble of building it just to try it out.

The Soul Food is not a straight up klone, at the very least it needs a diode swap: https://manticorefx.files.wordpress.com/2014/09/soulfoodschem2.png. It would be awesome if someone more knowledgeable than me could explain some of those changes from the Klon circuit. I'm particularly curious about all the unnecessary parallel caps.

To answer the original question, I'd have to say that that's up to you. Do you want a Klon? Do you think you can build one that's more accurate than EHX? Then go for it. If you're not interested in the thing, there's no reason to build it just because it's a 'must build'.
Nyt brenhin gwir, gwr y mae reit idaw dywedut 'y brenhin wyf i'.

Digital Larry

Parallel caps could simply be a way of cheaply fine tuning the frequency response.
Digital Larry
Want to quickly design your own effects patches for the Spin FV-1 DSP chip?