tonepad rebote 3 modulation section

Started by peterg, January 27, 2015, 09:59:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

peterg

I built the tonepad rebote a while ago, set it aside and tried it out again.

http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=156

The modulation section, which contains IC1, the rate control and depth control, doesn't do much iif anything. I'd like to figure out what its suppose to do by bread boarding it. What should I be looking for? How do I test it?

bluebunny

I'd check that IC1 (pin 1) is actually wobbling.  With the rate set to "slow", you'd probably be able to spot this with a DMM - otherwise use a scope.  I've seen suggestions elsewhere that some op amps don't play well in LFOs.  But this is a verified design, so I'd expect it to work...

And yes, you could breadboard the LFO part to be confident that it would wobble as designed.
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

peterg

Thanks Marc. I'm still a noob on the technical stuff. Is the wobble a DC or audio measurement?

bluebunny

By "wobble" I mean that you'll see the voltage at this point rising and falling - if the LFO rate is low enough.  If the rate is too high, the DMM won't keep up and you won't be able to see anything.  Unless the LFO rate can go high enough (above 20Hz), it won't count as audio.
  • SUPPORTER

peterg

Ok  I have wooble but its very subtle. Are there any mods I can do to make it more pronounced?

bluebunny

It kinda depends on what "subtle" is, and how "unsubtle" it needs to be.  Any further speculation on my part would be stepping beyond my pay-grade (hell, putting on my own shoes and socks is beyond my pay-grade).  So did you probe the wobble at pin 1?  Have you checked all your parts in the LFO?  And are you using Tonepad's board, or did you do your own?
  • SUPPORTER

peterg