2 stage Electra help needed

Started by ljoe1969, February 25, 2015, 02:51:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ljoe1969

First I am a noob. I would like to put two Electra's together into one circuit. Could someone tell me how to do this? I have two of them bread boarded, when I connect them with a jumper wire I get all kinds of noise.

Thanks in advance.

antonis

Do you connect them is series (first output to second input) or in parallel (adding individual outputs) ..??

Are there any out (vol) pots..??

If yes, what is their value..??

P.S.
If you try to distort an already distorted signal by exactly the same way you'll not practically notice any difference...

You better try to "alter" first stage's distortion - like move the pair of diodes between the Collector and Base of BJT (changing also the biasing resistor to something like 470k) and connect them via a - say - 10k resistor...
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

duck_arse

ljoe, draw the circuit (the one you're using, the one you're thinking of, doesn't matter), then show it to us.
You hold the small basket while I strain the gnat.

GibsonGM

Quote from: duck_arse on February 25, 2015, 09:43:36 AM
ljoe, draw the circuit (the one you're using, the one you're thinking of, doesn't matter), then show it to us.

^ would be very helpful.

To add to Antonis' reply.....if you try to amplify something that is already "maxxed out" in amplification, you multiply the signals (if in series)....and in trying to do so, you can get some VERY weird, uncontrollable oscillation.....you might be asking an already-high signal level to be amplified by 1,000 or something, which the power supply simply cannot do, and the resulting draws on the supply lead to massive protest (for lack of a better word).