help designing a parametric eq pedal with molten voltage pedal sync midi

Started by lavastudios, November 08, 2015, 11:49:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lavastudios

so after plenty of searching, i've concluded that nobody makes an eq pedal that fits my requirements, so i'm going to have to create something unique. i'm not an electrical engineer, and my soldering skills are pretty basic, so i will have to pay a tech to do the work, but i was hoping to get some help with the design from you knowledgable folks. basically, i want to have a 3 band fully parametric eq pedal, with hp and lp filters (pretty much like the pro tools default eq plugin in guitar pedal form), and it needs to be controllable via midi. the only way i know how to achieve this is with molten voltage pedal sync:

http://www.moltenvoltage.com/pedalsync/PedalSync_audio_control_MIDI_chips_modules_index.html

i emailed molten voltage, and they said i need the "four pots" modules:

http://www.moltenvoltage.com/pedalsync/documentation/PedalSync_MV-56_MV-56B_Four_Pots_Datasheet.pdf

most of the info on that data sheet is over my head, but i'm guessing one module can control four pots, so i'd need four modules to control 15 pots (high pass gain, high pass freq, high pass q, low gain, low freq, low q, mid gain, mid freq, mid q, high gain, high freq, high q, low pass gain, low pass freq, low pass q). can anyone recommend what parts to use that will be compatible with the "four pots" modules and be a great choice sonically? i could buy an existing parametric eq pedal such as the empress paraeq or wmd utility (if the parts are compatible?) and ad more components and rehouse it all in an appropriately sized enclosure, or go for a more ground up approach.