First Build - Question about power supply / offboard wiring.

Started by character__zero, November 30, 2015, 02:44:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

character__zero

This is my first build & my first time posting here (I apologize in advance if this is the wrong part of the forum to be asking this). I've completed my circuit for a ross clone. I want to do all of the offboard wiring and test it to see if it works, but I do not have a DC jack yet. Will the pedal work if I do all of the wiring with only a 9V battery plug and no DC jack? All of the off board wiring instructions I've come across involve a DC Jack. I'm very new to this and would appreciate any advice you can offer!! Thanks!

mcknib

Yes you can test it with a battery snap and battery only, just put your +9v wire and ground wire to their respective pads on the board

edit: and as Rich says make sure it's all correctly laid out before applying power you wouldn't want any mishaps with your CA3080

Kipper4

Hi Welcome to the forum.
Yer you should be fine hooking up a 9v battery to the power supply rails.
The Ross? Are we talking about a dyna comp compressor or a dod250 overdrive.
Its customary to add a link in your post, so we know what circuit your talking about. Sometime a layout will help too. Just incase anyone spots errors in the layout.

A bit more info would not go amiss mate but i woul think you would be fine.
Its a good idea before hooking up the power to check for solder bridges and misplaced or wrong value parts. Orientation of polarised caps etc, Just might save you some debugging time for future referance.

Good luck I hope you dont see blue smoke :)
Rich

Ma throats as dry as an overcooked kipper.

Smoke me a Kipper. I'll be back for breakfast.

Grey Paper.
http://www.aronnelson.com/DIYFiles/up/

PBE6