3PDT switch wired to live rail?

Started by CurlsOnKeys, February 03, 2016, 05:53:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CurlsOnKeys

Hi all,

I'm fixing a EHX Fuzz Graphic Fuzz which has a loud pop when engaging the pedal. Looking for possible culprits, I came across a bizarre wiring on the 3PDT switch. Googled a long time for it, but didn't find anything about this configuration.
I'm fairly new to really trying to "fix" these things, although I have a decent background in electronics.

Here's the link to the schematic: https://smokingtip.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/aagraphicfuzz.pdf

So to make the pop go away, these are the things I tried first (all to no avail):
- hook up pulldown resistors to input/output caps
- unsoldered the LED
- measured with my oscilloscope to see if caps were "floating" or to find out where the DC would come from

In doing this last thing, I noticed that the input - when bypassed - had the whole positive supply rail (12V) on it. It seemed to me that this could possibly be the cause of the loud pop (engaging the pedal means a 12V cap discharge). Does that seem possible?

The 12V comes from a wire that is directly connected from output of the 78L12 to the 3PDT switch (soldered in between U8 and C42 on the schematic). It's not mentioned on the schematic (it has no dedicated pcb wiring terminal) but it's there and it looks like it has always been. The switch is wired as follows, with a jumper wire between 2 and 7 (from input jack).

From PCB out --- From input jack --- Led+
    |                             |                    |
To output jack --- To PCB in --------- Led-
    |                             |                    |
From input jack --- To +12V ---------- not connected

As you can see, in bypass mode, input-jack goes true bypass to output jack, but pcb in hangs to +12V.