Yet another "what to do with those tubes?" topic

Started by balkanizeyou, June 30, 2016, 08:13:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

balkanizeyou

Hi everyone!
By an accident I just got my hands on some pretty old (most of them are from the 60s I think) tubes and I'm wondering what can I do with them. I've never worked with valves before, but I think that is the perfect time to start now that I have some of them at hand. So I wonder whether there's some guitar related use for those tubes - a preamp? power amp? overdrive pedal maybe? Or some other pedal? I have a few of each:
ECC81 (a lot of those) - dual triode, equivalent to 12AT7
ECC82 - dual triode, equivalent to 12AU7
ECC85 - dual triode, equivalent to 6AQ8
STR85 - it's a voltage stabilizer I suppose
QQE03 - twin beam tetrode
EL42 - output pentode
EL84 - power pentode, equivalent to 6BQ5
EF95 - pentode, equivalent to 6AK5
ECH81 - triode-heptode, equivalent to 6AJ8
5763 - beam tetrode

Does anyone have any suggestions what to do with these?

whoisalhedges

Quote from: balkanizeyou on June 30, 2016, 08:13:09 PM
I've never worked with valves before...

<snip>

...Does anyone have any suggestions what to do with these?
Find a circuit that's already built, and needs replacement tubes, and pop them in. Or sell them.

That's a glib answer, I don't mean to come off like a jerk - but for 99% of valve applications, we're talking about voltages that can make you very, very dead if you don't know what you're doing.

That disclaimer out of the way, there's only one way to learn what you are doing, and that's to do it. The ECC81s, ECC82s, and EL84s are in loads of guitar amps. I think that for the ECC82 specifically, you can find some low-voltage boost circuits here - just search for "12AU7". 12AX7/ECC83 are more popular, but you can build a complete amplifier just with 81/82 in the preamp and EL84 as the output. Either guitar or hifi amp.