Best way to troubleshoot a breadboard project

Started by jfrabat, December 08, 2016, 11:56:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jfrabat

Hi guys.  I hope my question is not too idiotic (I am a newb, but I have always followed the motto that the only stupid question is the one that it is not asked), but what is the best way for one to check breadboard projects?  Following the sound signal with an audio probe?  Measuring with the multi-meter?  If so, how do I calculate

To give you some background as to how much of a rookie I am, I have only completed 2 pedals, both are overdrive.  One is a simple transistor based one that is just fantastic (I use it all the time).  The other is a more complicated OpAmp and diode based one, but that one I do not like the sound.  It works, but I don't like the way it came out.

I have as a project now a Little Angel Chorus done on a PCB, but for some reason, the dry signal on that one is working, but the wet is not.  I also tried a Vulcan Rat, but took it off the breadboard because I did not get it to work (of course, as I was finishing taking it off the breadboard, I noticed I was plugging the amp to the input and the guitar to the output, which does not help in any way!), and last night I breadboarded a Deep Blue Delay, but I also could not get it to work (I have yet to do any troubleshooting on that one, and to be honest, I did little troubleshooting on the Vulcan Rat because I figured I needed the Delay more, so I did not follow up on the cause of the problem).

Now, even though I am getting a bit frustrated, I am not easily discouraged (my wife tends to call that trait "stubborn"!), but I figured there have to be some tricks of the trade to find out where the problem is occurring, and I was wondering if you guys would be willing to share them.

By the way, I have not received anything but great support from this site.  I am really glad to have discovered it!

Felipe