Fuzz face bias problem

Started by MickJ, January 13, 2017, 08:05:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MickJ

Hi all, greetings from tropical Darwin Australia. I have recently breadboarded my first pedal (total novice) a germanium FF clone and, after only one false start with no output at all,  lo and behold it works! I didn't quite sound like Jimi H but I thought no problem, ge trannies in the tropical heat etc and set about adjusting the bias at Q2 collector. Swapped  the 8.2k for higher, then higher, then ever higher values , added a trimpot and finally dialled in about 4.7v with about 42k of resistance, which I thought was very high. The circuit sounds ok although has a bit of wobble (oscillation?).
All components aside from the 8.2k resistor are standard FF and the transistors are AC128 with hfe of about 80 and 105. Not sure of leakage. Also I'm pretty sure everything is wired up correctly.
I guess my guestion is, is the need for a  much bigger resistor value possibly due to a fault somewhere else in the circuit and, if I can dial in an appropriate bias v and the pedal sounds not too bad (although I think it could sound better), then is this a problem?
Any help/ideas/advice would be greatly  appreciated as I am very much a cold, scared, alone little child when it comes to pedal building.

MickJ

I think I posted this in the wrong place. Just found where it should have been. Oops. Don't know how to move it.

duck_arse

Mick - can't help you much with the ff problem, but if you click "report to moderator", and then type in some old .... something, about moving the thread, the gods might stir and see you right.

welcome to the forum. I don't believe the part about cold, by the way, not in darwin.
You hold the small basket while I strain the gnat.

MickJ

Thanks mate, I'll give that a go. You're right about not being cold. Almost midnight and about 29 degrees ( C not F)

duck_arse