NEED HELP Breadboarding a Silicon Fuzz Face Pedal

Started by bonzoboi, January 26, 2017, 02:19:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bonzoboi

Hi everyone!

I am a first-time pedal builder and user of this forum!
I have been attempting to build the Fuzz Face pedal using silicon transistors for the past month or so, and have had little to no success in my attempts.
Initially, I followed the schematic and wiring diagram on General Guitar Gadgets, but after having issues completing the project, I came to this website for help and found a link to the page http://diy.smallbearelec.com/HowTos/BreadboardSiFF/BreadboardSiFF.htm where I found very helpful and fleshed out instructions on how to breadboard a Silicon Fuzz Face pedal.
However, after multiple attempts, I have not even been able to pass a signal through my breadboarded circuit.
I consulted the "what to do when it doesn't work page" and went through the checklist to troubleshoot my circuit, and will list the values below:

1. What does it do, not do, and sound like?
Does not pass a signal.
2. Name of the circuit =
Silicon Fuzz Face
3. Source of the circuit (URL of schematic or project) =
http://diy.smallbearelec.com/HowTos/BreadboardSiFF/BreadboardSiFF.htm
4. Any modifications to the circuit? Y or N
No.
5. Any parts substitutions? If yes, list them.
I replaced the transistors recommended (2N2222A or BC108) with 2N3904 silicon transistors, which were suggested as alternatives by the author of the page. Also, I'm using a 1K OHM Linear Taper Potentiometer rather than the 1K Reverse Audio Potentiometer recommended. Also, I'm using a 0.01 mF ceramic capacitor, rather than one made of polyester film.
6. Positive ground to negative ground conversion?
No.
7.Turn your meter on, set it to the 10V or 20V scale. Remove the battery from the battery clip. Probe the battery terminals with the meter leads before putting it in the clip. What is the out of circuit battery voltage? => 9.62 V