Aion Comet DS-1 help.

Started by broomhandle, January 30, 2017, 11:43:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

broomhandle

I am still new to the pedal building game. 4th build....

the Aion Comet DS-1 clone. all built, it has pass thru, but when engaged, no LED or its just nothing. also when engaged when i go thru the on-off-on switch i hear cracking....

I feel that I maybe messed up the LED diodes. that they should be on the ends...

or my other thought... ground... is it grounded to the board?

any help? Did i mess up anything else? you guys are smarter than me... haha

Ds mistake

slacker

Quote from: broomhandle on January 30, 2017, 11:43:53 AM
or my other thought... ground... is it grounded to the board?

Yeah the board needs to be grounded, from your pictures it looks like it isn't, you need a wire from "GND" on the board to the DC jack. If you look at diagram on page 7 of the build doc https://www.dropbox.com/s/k3d93su9d48k8cd/aion-comet-ds1-documentation.pdf?dl=1 it shows one way to do it by connecting the "GND" pad to the sleeve of the input jack, but you could just run a wire from the board straight back to the DC jack, which would do the same thing.

broomhandle

ok cool, i thought that was the case, but was not sure with the foot switch pcb board. I will prob ground to the side jack. easier i think..

does anybody know if the led diodes are ok soldered like that?

bluebunny

Quote from: broomhandle on January 30, 2017, 02:15:46 PM
does anybody know if the led diodes are ok soldered like that?

I would say not.  If you look at your board and on the documentation, the "gap" amongst those four diode pads is right in the middle.  Each outer pair appears to be connected by a trace.  This is so that you can accommodate LEDs or e.g. DO-35 diodes.  So you need to shift your D4 right and D5 left.
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

broomhandle

ok, I thought so... Also it loos like it requires 3mm instead of what i used 5mm..