Anyone tried putting a preamp/boost in front of a drive circuit in a pedal?

Started by airvian, June 07, 2022, 04:09:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

airvian

So I thought about what I could build next and I wondered about putting a boost/preamp circuit in front of another OD circuit in a pedal, so I have a preamp and a master gain control of sorts. I was thinking about putting something like an EP3 preamp stage in front of a Tonebender Mk3 or something like a Fairfield Barbershop and keeping it all in one pedal with only one footswitch. Has anyone tried anything like it before?
dusting a circuit in sugar makes it sweeter

idy

The old fashioned fuzzes "like" to be directly connected to guitar, so a booster before changes character/frequency response. But the fuzzfactory is just a fuzz face with added knobs fed by a  booster.

So booster into TB is maybe losing something you might want, but booster into Barbershop is how a lot of people use them.

booster into overdrive can push it closer to fuzz. Booster into fuzz=mayhem, maybe you want that...

Lots of us stack a clean booster before a drive pedal. Some leave the booster on all the time. Could put them in one box. Lots of examples: BYOC OD2, King of Tone (two ODs, people might set up one as a clean boost)... Some people want booster after drive.... Morning Glory...

GibsonGM

Yup, what he said.  If you have a transistor amp (like my little Marshall practice/recording amp, uses a 4558 opamp preamp drive circuit), you can juice it with a boost and get some good results.. Push too far and it just sounds like ugly fuzz tho.   Same for pedals - even keeping a distortion on 'half gain' and then hitting it with a boost is usually a totally different tone.