Muddy Sustain

Started by carp0824, April 02, 2017, 06:59:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

carp0824

Hello all! I am brand new to building effects pedals for fun. I tried my hand at a circuit that was based off of the Electra Guitar. You can find the link to the build instructions www.premierguitar.com/ext/resources/files/DIY-PDFs/Oct14_PGDistortion_BuildGuide_Final_R2.pdf . The problem I have is that when I test the circuit on a breadboard my sustain is very muddy and the note no longer sounds like the note I played. All notes sound very good up until I let it ring out. Any ideas as to why this is happening?

The parts I used are as follows:

*2N5088 Transistor
*1N4001 Diode
*1N34A Diode and 1N914 Diode (These two diodes are in series with the 1N4001 running parallel)
*.1uf Xicon Ceramic Disk Capacitor
*68k Xicon 1/4 w 1% metal film resistor
*4.7k xicon 1/4w 1% metal film resistor
*2.2m Xicon 1/4w 1% metal film resistor
*.068uf  100v Polyester Capacitor
*16v 22uf Xicon Radial Electrolytic Capacitor

Zounds!

Can you elaborate on what you mean by "muddy sustain"? Does the note sputter out? Or something else?

Also, folks will probably be able to help more if you can give voltages for the 2n5088 transistor!

carp0824

I purchased the 2n5088 transistor from Mammoth Electronics and their page doesn't give me the voltage.

As for "muddy sustain" - When I play a power chord (any power chord) and let it ring out, the tone of the power chord becomes and awful sound. I am no longer able to tell what power chord I played. It's like I detuned my guitar or played a bunch of random strings at the same time. It happens within seconds of playing the chord and letting it ring. I'm not sure how else to explain it other than "muddy."

robthequiet