faux bass preamp?

Started by CthulhuPlaysBass, May 27, 2017, 06:28:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CthulhuPlaysBass

Hello all. I am new to this site and I am brand new to building pedals.  I admit the first thing I'm thinking about is probably too ambitious - a 3-in-1 pedal combining a parametric EQ, a multiband compressor, and an bass overdrive. However I will be using kits so I'm hoping that makes this project a little easier. I have been doing some research on the interweb to see if anyone else is doing this. And though lots of people are buliding their own multieffects, they aren't doing what I want to see, which essentially is the MXR M80 bass preamp. I own this pedal and its great but I want to make it my own.
https://www.jimdunlop.com/product/m80-7-10137-01975-1.do  (i know it doesn't compress but im killing birds with stones here)

Links to kits as follows...

https://buildyourownclone.com/collections/fx-kits/products/paraeq

https://buildyourownclone.com/collections/fx-kits/products/parametric-multi-band-compressor

https://buildyourownclone.com/collections/fx-kits/products/bassoverdrive

...Don't get me wrong, I'm going to practice on a a few single effects to get the hang of how these things work. I'm not just going to jump in with both feet with out testing the waters. But my goal is to build the faux bass preamp. With that said I'm asking for advice, tips, pointers, what have you. My vision of these three pedals coming together is Bass Guitar in > EQ > Compressor > Bass OD > out to Amplifier. It involves a walnut enclosure with chrome knobs and a featureless face - very clean and classy . I want to replace the footswitches for the EQ and the Compressor with toggle switches to keep them defaulted to "always on" with the remaining footswitch in place for the Bass OD so call that into existence as needed.