Aion Electronics Stratus OD - no gain, no volume boost

Started by suryabeep, July 05, 2017, 10:42:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

suryabeep

Hi everyone,
I built an Aion electronics Stratus project  (https://aionelectronics.com/project/stratus-ibanez-ts9-od808-tube-screamer/) to Fulltone RTO specs. When I switch it on, there is no drive at all, and a *very* slight volume drop with all the knobs maxed out. I'm using an LF353N ic and the mids and bass mods. Here is the measured voltages at the IC pins:
pin1: 4.34
pin2:4.34
pin3: 4.34
pin4: 0
pin5: 3.65
pin6: 4.53
pin7: 4.30
pin8: 9.59
This is the first time i'm using a multimeter, so I may be doing the whole process wrong (I'm a total noob at debugging). What could be the problem?
Still in the process of learning, so bear with me if I ask dumb questions :P

robthequiet

The first thing I would check here is the foot-switch. Your voltages look good.

Power off, then use meter on ohms to check for continuity from the tip of the input cable to the place on the circuit board where the signal enters the circuit. It should show zero ohms or some way higher ohms,  depending on whether the switch is on or off. If it never shows zero ohms, then trace the wires back to the switch to make sure they are connected to the right lugs.

If you have a way of posting photos of your build so that we can see the wiring and components that would be a great help. Especially a close photo of the switch.

PS Welcome aboard!

suryabeep

I checked the footswitch, the meter reads 0 ohms when the footswitch is on.

EBK

That's a lot of paint inside the box....  Do you have ground continuity to that jack with only one wire?
  • SUPPORTER
Technical difficulties.  Please stand by.

suryabeep

Yeah, it seems like all the grounding points have continuity. The paint shouldn't be an issue, I have built many Aion projects in enclosures similar to this and there hasn't been a problem so far.

EBK

Could you measure your Q2 voltages?