Author Topic: Modding a JH-1 Wah  (Read 2213 times)

TOBOR

Modding a JH-1 Wah
« on: July 24, 2017, 06:19:33 PM »
This is my third time ever at modding.  My first two times have come out very satisfactory to myself.  I'm a total novice.  I'm trying to learn and try to stay real humble.

Please allow me to tell you about my first two mods.

1.)  My 1994 Dunlop GCB-95 had a scratchy pot which I successfully replaced.  I wanted to try out a yellow Fasel inductor inside of it also, so I put one in, replacing the N30 one which I still have.  An internet modder friend suggested I put a trimpot in to adjust the "Q" which I did and dialed in exactly the way I have in another wah I have the CAE MC404 dual Fasel Wah. 

2.) I put a socket inside my Rat2 distortion, which did not sound bad at all as it was.  I put in a National brand LM308 opamp in it.  I did not really notice any great change in tone for the better.  I therefore put back the original Texas Instrument opamp it came with.  I recently came across some of the Motorola LM308 metal can opamps which I will get to try in the Rat2 after I do my next mod.

On the JH-1 Wah I plan on doing the following mods to it:

1) Replace Q1 Transistor with 2N3900A
2) Replace Q2 Transistor with 2N3391A
3) Replace sweep capacitor with mylar/film .01uf capacitor
4) Put in a 1 K Ohm trimmer to adjust the Q

This is my first post on here I hope it does not appear too odd.

I've read and taken advice from some on here on the hFE values for the transistors.
I have two of each for both I'm replacing and the values are
2N3900A  313 hFE and 319 hFE
2N3391A  412 hFE and 329 hFE
« Last Edit: July 24, 2017, 06:22:58 PM by TOBOR »

Hatredman

Re: Modding a JH-1 Wah
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 08:14:31 AM »
Welcome!

About the OpAmp, don't believe the hype. Most of the time (if not all) replacinf it has no effect.

Scarlett Johansson uses a Burst Box with her Telecaster.

Kirk Hammet invented the Burst Box.

TOBOR