Sound Reactive LED on Fuzz

Started by daveed235, March 09, 2018, 11:28:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daveed235

Hello all,

I've got a Shin Ei Companion fuzz that I have breadboarded, and I was experimenting with clipping diodes from output to ground. When I use LEDs for clipping, they light up a little bit when the signal is being clipped, and it looks really cool, but it is very dim. What would be a simple way to make the LED brighter while still reacting to the guitar signal, using a BJT or JFET perhaps? I think it would make a really neat indicator instead of the conventional light.

I don't think I've seen or heard of this before, but I'm also pretty new to making pedals and I have a lot to learn!

Thanks,

Dave

bluebunny

Welcome to DIYSB, Dave.

When LEDs are used for clipping, they're not really intended to give you any kind of light show.  :icon_frown:  If they light up at all, it's a bonus.  If you really want some kind of flickering "this is being clipped" display, then you might want to consider a completely separate bit of circuitry (that you can bolt on) to complement what you've already got.  Have a search for "sound to light".
  • SUPPORTER
Ohm's Law - much like Coles Law, but with less cabbage...

digi2t

• SUPPORTER
Dead End FX
http://www.deadendfx.com/

Asian Icemen rise again...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=903467

"My ears don't distinguish good from great.  It's a blessing, really." EBK

diffeq

There are numerous ways to do it - with BJT, with comparator or with LM386, with opamp and even logic inverter if the signal is beefy enough to move within 3V-6V thresholds of the Schmitt trigger:

Personally, I'd go with LM386. It's cheap and easy.

daveed235

Thanks guys! I'm going to try doing something like this. I hope this will look pretty cool, and I will keep you guys posted. I don't have any opamps on hand so I will try it out with just BJTs.

antonis